cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

FIXED
jinky32
Newbie
Posts: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 16-08-2011

Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

Hi,

 

I purchased a static IP from Plusnet and am currently using a Draytek 130 Modem and an Asus N66U Router running Advanced Tomato 28.0000 MIPSR2-3.4-138 K26 USB AIO-64K.


For some reason I just cannot open or forward any ports.  In the Router GUI the ports are forwarded as I have done with many combined router/modems in the past but when I check for opened ports using online services (http://www.canyouseeme.org/ etc) it reports that all the ports I have manually opened and those set by UPnP are closed.  Similarly if I telnet my static WAN and an 'open' port from my Router it cannot connect.

Tools such as http://www.canyouseeme.org/ report the same WAN IP as I see reported in the Router (which is the same as the static IP Plusnet says I have) so I don't think there is any double NATing going on.

I'm reasonable sure that when I used the modem/router Plusnet provided the port forwarding was working so presumably there is something with the distinct Modem and Router set up I now have?

Any help much appreciated; I'm a bit stumped!

Tags (1)
5 REPLIES
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,280
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

Have you checked the Plusnet Firewall (link requres login) is off?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
jinky32
Newbie
Posts: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 16-08-2011

Re: Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

@Browni I have now! Yes it was was to off.

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,983
Thanks: 265
Fixes: 11
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

Does your device have a effectively static IP?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,457
Thanks: 1,431
Fixes: 34
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

@jinky32 - Are the devices to which you are port forwarding to actually on at the time of these tests?

And they are of course on the same network? If this is a new router setup then maybe the devices are stagnating on the old network i.e. 192.168.1.X -v- 192.168.0.X. Also if you have a switch on your LAN power cycle it too.

jinky32
Newbie
Posts: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 16-08-2011

Re: Static WAN IP - Port Forward Doesn't Work

Fix

Thanks guys.  More reading around and it's actually a 'feature' in Advanced Tomato.  Disable DHCP for WAN as described here http://samuelpinches.com.au/blab/port-forwarding-and-upnp-on-advanced-tomato-not-working/