cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New laptop must use wifi

FIXED
GerardLKIng
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

New laptop must use wifi

I have brought a new laptop, my office where I do my St John Ambulance work is separated from the house. I have a cable from the router in the house to the office, no problem. New laptop has only wifi connection cannot use cable connection to routher.  less good contecsion, lower speed, not good. How do I get back to acceptrable conmnection speeds?  What is the best solution?

10 REPLIES 10
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,366
Thanks: 5,287
Fixes: 379
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New laptop must use wifi

Fix

Assuming its got a. USB3 port then something like this https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0CD1H9X6K?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_dt_b_product_details 

To get the best performance make sure whatever you get is usb3 and Gigabit capable

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 22,262
Thanks: 4,691
Fixes: 512
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New laptop must use wifi

Moderator's note(s):

Thread moved from Broadband to Tech Help.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 22,194
Thanks: 3,766
Fixes: 64
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: New laptop must use wifi

@GerardLKIng 

 

Excellent suggestion by @MisterW ......  I had similar problem with my LInux mini laptop.  would not connect via the "normal" Ethernet socket... could only use WIFI to connect.  Got one of those USB connectors and it worked perfectly.

ghamilton123
Rising Star
Posts: 145
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎28-08-2023

Re: New laptop must use wifi

@shutter, I'm just going to assume that it wouldn't connect via regular ethernet ports, due to a missing network driver. 

shutter
Community Veteran
Posts: 22,194
Thanks: 3,766
Fixes: 64
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: New laptop must use wifi

@ghamilton123  No, I had the correct ethernet driver installed, but there was something  on the motherboard not compatible within the Linux system.

When I changed the HDD to a Windows version, the Ethernet port worked.

The only way that particular 10inch laptop would connect via ethernet cable to my router, was via the USB conversion stick.

 

Here is the full story !    https://community.plus.net/t5/Tech-Help-Software-Hardware-etc/Laptop-won-t-connect-via-ethernet-cabl...

Thanks for your interest Smiley

 

ghamilton123
Rising Star
Posts: 145
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎28-08-2023

Re: New laptop must use wifi

@shutter interesting topic, am assuming that "Gerry" is your nickname 😂, if so we have the same nickname. 

GerardLKIng
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Re: New laptop must use wifi

Thank myou very much for your quick responce and informatiom. I was beginning to wonder if I would have to move my office into the house to get a usable connection. Having spend a lot on a new laptop, I wonderewd if I had made the right decision.

A questions, here3 via FTTC about 200 metres from my house and get 68mb download now, how much benefit will I gwt when fibre arrives. Openreach are working on this in the road. I/we do not use system for gaming, nor download films, look at items on Iplayer, etc.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,366
Thanks: 5,287
Fixes: 379
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New laptop must use wifi

@GerardLKIng FTTP is seen as being more reliable than FTTC as it uses fibre optic cables all the way to the home, eliminating signal degradation from copper lines and avoiding maintenance issues from decades-old copper phone infrastructure.

It also enables much faster speeds, although in your case that's probably no advantage. There are a number of FTTP options available from Plusnet , from the Full Fibre 74 which will give similar speeds to those you are getting on FTTC, up to Full Fibre 900 which gives 900Mb down and 115Mb up.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

greygit1
Rising Star
Posts: 239
Thanks: 29
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-06-2023

Re: New laptop must use wifi

With the fear that I'll be flagged as wandering off-topic...

 

"FTTP is seen as being more reliable than FTTC as it uses fibre optic cables all the way to the home, eliminating signal degradation from copper lines and avoiding maintenance issues from decades-old copper phone infrastructure."

 

Copper cabling has been susceptible to theft (recycled metals black market).

Fibre optic cabling much less so.

Someone in BT should remember when a portion of London was removed from the internet as someone broke into one place and removed a lot of copper cabling. That was well over a decade ago. Affecting consumers and businesses alike.

https://www.openreach.com/help-and-support/crimes-and-scams/report-cable-theft

And it happens (and has happened) elsewhere around the globe.

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2022/09/openreach-uk-highlights-mass-of-copper-cable-thefts-in...

https://www.smart-energy.com/industry-sectors/energy-grid-management/cable-theft-a-growing-problem-a...

(My 'off-topic' stuff is purely speculative. It may bring me back into contact with people I used to work with. My personal situation has had some major 'restructuring' this year).

RobPN
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,088
Thanks: 2,653
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: New laptop must use wifi


@greygit1 wrote:

With the fear that I'll be flagged as wandering off-topic...

 

<snip>

 

Copper cabling has been susceptible to theft (recycled metals black market).

 

<snip>

 

(My 'off-topic' stuff is purely speculative. It may bring me back into contact with people I used to work with. My personal situation has had some major 'restructuring' this year).


 

Scrap metal dealers? Huh Grin