cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NAS Storage

Mav
Fixes: 515

NAS Storage

Now that I am getting heavily back into photography (with some video editing) I want to get a NAS storage device that will serve me well now and for some time to come. With uncompressed raw files from a 61MP camera coming in at around 120MB each I'll need a fair bit of storage (maybe 12TB to start with). I need redundancy built in so that if a drive dies any missing files can be rebuilt.

Ideally I'd also like it to be able to connect to the internet so that I can edit on-the-go.

Does anyone have any advice or recommendations as I am totally new to this?

Ta.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

25 REPLIES 25
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Re: NAS Storage

I use a Synology NAS with a pair of 2TB drives.

Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Fixes: 77

It depends on your budget, but you won't go far wrong with Synology. Not the cheapest by any means, but after a disappointing experience with a Netgear NAS, I am now on my second Synology. device

A two bay device will give you a degree of backup of each disk, you can configure external secure access as well as many other things.

Every now and then, if you know the right people, there can be bargains, or at least ways of saving a few quid - such as buying the right desktop USB drives, and shuckeing them - rather than paying around 50% more for the equivalent drive!

HTH.

Mav

Thanks for the replies.