cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to run two routers on one network?

_Pythaeometry_

Is it possible to run two routers on one network?

Hello folks Smiley

As the title says, I am trying to figure out how to run two routers at once, sharing the same connection - without WIFI.

I hope to run ethernet cables in 2 rooms, from the routers to various devices: One in the living room for the TV, and the other in the computing room.   

I would rather not go down the route of getting work down in my house to get wired up, as you would normally for a wired connection setup. 

... Can it be done? 

Thank you!! 

6 REPLIES 6
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: Is it possible to run two routers on one network?

Welcome to the forums, @_Pythaeometry_ . In a word - no. You can have two router/modems,  but only one can actually be directly connected to the outside world, the other must be set as an access point only.

I'm not an expert on this subject, but if I tag @Baldrick1 , hopefully he will pick this up and explain the details.

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 73

Hi @_Pythaeometry_ 

I would rather not go down the route of getting work down in my house to get wired up, as you would normally for a wired connection setup.

Deleted my post as it conflicts with this statement

Dan

Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

@_Pythaeometry_ 

Let's start with the basics. You cannot run two 'routers' from one telephone line connection, period.