Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insecure?

OhWell
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Insecure?

Hi,

Just moved from Virgin Media to Plusnet.  Also recently changed from Linux to Windows 10.

Just using the built in Windows 10 firewall.

Went to the GRC Shields Up website, and did a scan.  I was alarmed to find that I failed the port scan test, which previously with Linux/Virgin Media I was 100% 'TruStealth'

The ports are 22, 53, 80, 110, 443, 500, 501, 502, 600 - 614.

On my Plusnet Hub One router, there are not a great deal of firewall options to adjust.

My question is, what can I do to improve my security?  Perhaps it is due to Windows 10? (I am new to Win 10. been using Linux for ages)

Thanks.

10 REPLIES 10
toggie101
Rising Star

Re: Insecure?

It may well be due to your Windows 10 configuration - as I've just run a full GRC Shields Up scan using macOS 10.14.6 (Plusnet Hub One etc.) and received a 100% "TruStealth".

Hopefully some knowledgable folk will give you some advice on how best to configure your system.

idonno
Champion
Fixes: 6

Got 2 laptops here running W10. One runs a full blown virus package, the other just has Windows 10 defender running on it. Both come up with 100% TruStealth. I don't use PN own router so can't help there but running the W10 laptop with Windows defender on it direct through the modem (no router) still shows 100% TruStealth.

As @toggie101 says, you might need to dig somewhat into the security side of W10 (i.e. windows firewall) and see what the settings are - mine are on defaults. Might pay to run some Malware software.

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
OhWell
Rising Star

Actually, I think I sussed it out.

I was looking at just the Windows firewall and router configuration page, these are quite locked down however.