cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP address for NTP time server?

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: IP address for NTP time server?

If you add the following to the registry you can synchronise with the Plusnet time server:
Quote
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\DateTime\Servers]
"3"="ntp.plus.net"

Note the key number has to be the next spare number.
If you don't understand this post you are best off leaving well alone!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP address for NTP time server?

but PN time goes up the creek when the clocks change, the M$S one has the time shifts for most of the world and changes automatically,  They have altered their data base fairly recently.  Not very often that I give praise to M$S
VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,856
Thanks: 458
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: IP address for NTP time server?

But the NTP server merely gives UTC time.
It's up to the local machine to convert this to local time.
I get several updates a year for the local time database, usually for places I've never heard of.
Since the whole of Europe (usually) makes their daylight saving time change on the same dates,
it isn't something to be bothered about.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP address for NTP time server?

are but if you look at the E-mail headers, and they are often in local chineee time, you as if you care can see how long it took to get here  :crazy:
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP address for NTP time server?

Just watching the 2010 fireworks on the news from the far east