cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change sagecom router admin password?????

Faizan786
Rising Star
Posts: 111
Thanks: 22
Registered: 31-05-2015

How to change sagecom router admin password?????

I've just got off the phone to plusnet and they recommended I post here to find the answer.
There is no option in router to change admin password to access router.
Ive set up access control on devices within the household, but they can easily be deleted by just copying the information on the back of the router.  So their should be an option to change admin password.
Please help?
11 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,896
Thanks: 1,197
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

dick:blue Duplicate post removed from 'Fibre' board.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,341
Thanks: 481
Fixes: 44
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

There is an advanced settings page on the 2704n http://192.168.1.254/expert_user.html does that provide the facility to change it ? ( I don't have one so can't try it )
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

There is, MisterW Wink
Hi Faizan786, welcome to the Forum by the way.
Login as mentioned by MisterW and got to >Management >Access Control >Passwords
See attached screen grab I took a while ago.
I'm appalled that Plusnet's CSC staff are that badly trained that they couldn't tell you something as basic as this Shocked
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,341
Thanks: 481
Fixes: 44
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

Thanks AO, it looks like the CSC aren't aware of the advanced settings facility then, as you say, pretty poor show Roll eyes
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

They certainly should be when you consider where the information about expert_user came from in the first place  Roll eyes
Faizan786
Rising Star
Posts: 111
Thanks: 22
Registered: 31-05-2015

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

Thanks Guys, Yep the csc staff member didnt have a clue and put me on hold for 12 minutes and came back and said you have to be passed higher tech support. I opted for forums.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

12 minutes  Shocked
Faizan786
Rising Star
Posts: 111
Thanks: 22
Registered: 31-05-2015

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

Thank you very much for that info all worked fine, Ill ring PN CSC and go through the procedure with them. Tongue
RedNic
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 06-07-2017

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

 when i type in the boxes to change my password. 

it says "password change failed"

what could be the reason for this?

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,984
Thanks: 1,153
Fixes: 28
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

@RedNic - Could it be the use of unsupported characters, some only accept upper and lower case characters and digits and symbols such as £$% etc aren't allowed.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,856
Thanks: 1,062
Fixes: 236
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How to change sagecom router admin password?????

Hi there,


As Mook has advised, it's possible because of the use of non supported characters. Failing that, you could try a factory reset of the router and try again?

 

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team