cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,618
Thanks: 960
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

I am trying to figure out the easiest and least expensive way to connect a Humax 1010 PVR to the Internet.
The TV  & PVR are in  the front room  but the modem is some considerable distance away and it would be impracticle to move it close enough to the  PVR  to allow a wired connection.
The most  obvious solution would be to use extenders that plug into the mains circuit of the house  but there is a snag with that as we have 2. Ring circuits for the mains electrical sockets so that idea would not work.
Seems that  even Humax own dongle is not a solution .
For some reason only a wired connection will work,
Any ideas or thoughts on this ?
21 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

I have 3 (believe it or not) of these sort of devices in my house (just don't ask why), 2 on terrestrial signals, one on satellite.
One is connected using a LAN cable, which is actually using about 30 metres of 4-core phone cable (CW130Cool which runs happily up to 100mbps.
It is not at all obvious run along skirting boards etc., so much so that SWMBO has never noticed it!
The other two use TP-Link TL-WR702N devices (micro wireless routers) configured to connect to my PN router wirelessly and deliver t'internet via a local short LAN cable (comes with the unit) and powered from the USB socket on the back of the Humax which has no normal use.
I use these clever little widgets a fair bit to deliver a wired connection to devices needing a wired internet connection, e.g. PC's I'm repairing.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

If you can't use powerline units then your only option is a long cable.
I have a cable run from my back room (upstairs) to the livingroom (downstairs) and it is plugged in to a 5 port switch to feed all the bits down there.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Quote from: Hairy
If you can't use powerline units then your only option is a long cable.
Or as noted above by me.  Wink
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Or
you could move the PVR/TV.  Cheesy

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,106
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

I second HPsauce: I use a Tenda W150M, which is similar to the TP-Link unit.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Quote from: HPsauce
]Or as noted above by me.  Wink

Yeah but we replied at the same time  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

That's why the forum has the warning about new posts.  Grin
MJN
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,104
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Quote from: gleneagles
The most  obvious solution would be to use extenders that plug into the mains circuit of the house  but there is a snag with that as we have 2. Ring circuits for the mains electrical sockets so that idea would not work.

Have you tried?
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Are your two rings on separate phases?

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,618
Thanks: 960
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Not sure what you mean by separate phases ?
In the mains junction box there are 2. Mcb's  marked at 16 amp for plugs,  there are of course a number of other mcb's marked for other circuits in the house.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Mains comes in 3 phases (hence the name 3 phase supply). Normally you only have ONE in your house to stop someone connecting between them.
You might get away with using PL adaptors as long as it is one phase in the house.
Only large buildings likes hospitals is it normally an issue
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,618
Thanks: 960
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Quote from: Hairy
If you can't use powerline units then your only option is a long cable.
I have a cable run from my back room (upstairs) to the livingroom (downstairs) and it is plugged in to a 5 port switch to feed all the bits down there.
Is it possible to get cables in long lengths that are already made up  or is it a matter of  putting the necessary plug or socket on the cable yourself ?
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,195
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

Ring circuits commonly have 30A MCB's.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Connecting Humax PVR to the Internet

You can get cables at any length made up.
My local £shop has even got Belkin 10/15/30M ones  Wink