cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

FIXED
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

I doubt it, Rich. As I said earlier, the 'pools' of IPs are local and fairly small, so even if PN did a session kill for you, you could still end up on the same range - they cannot control what the automatic system allocates.

John
RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,590
Thanks: 1,535
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

I don't know whether the following is helpful or not ...

I have a PN static IP address, I can access the EuroCarParts site with no problem.

I cleared my browser cache and tried to access the site via a VPN I have to my brother in Sweden, again I could access the site with no problems using two different browsers.

 

A tracert from my PN IP fails as follows

Tracing route to www.eurocarparts.com [194.74.180.83]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 251.core.plus.net [195.166.130.251]
3 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms 84.93.253.91
4 12 ms 13 ms 13 ms 195.99.125.136
5 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms core4-hu0-17-0-6.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.138]
6 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms acc3-te0-1-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net [213.121.193.87]
7 14 ms 13 ms 13 ms ftip003329986-v1-lb.acc3.faraday.21cn-nte.bt.net [62.172.38.85]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

RichV
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: Friday

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Thanks Rob, I'll take a closer look later (up to my neck in Jet Spraying at the mo). However, I can tell you that I've cleared everything including the Hosts file, tried many browsers and DNS servers. I think John was right that it's down to my Public IP which I cannot control. Like you I can access the site using the TOR browser so, as it's very infrequent that I use Euro Car Parts ,at  least I can get through if necessary. 

 

This saga has gone on for days and is driving me nuts however I very much appreciate everyone's time, knowledge and effort.   

RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,590
Thanks: 1,535
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

@RichV 

A guaranteed way to change the IP address you have ATM is to 'buy' a static IP address from PN for a one off charge of £5.

Whether that's worth it to you, or even if it will solve your problem, may be something to consider.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Why should a customer have to pay to resolve a company's error? I certainly wouldn't - on principle, @RobPN 

John
RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,590
Thanks: 1,535
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

I don't think I would either @jab1 , especially in this case as the site can be reached using alternative means (TOR etc.).  Wink

 

PS - I didn't pay for my PN static IP address, it was one of those benefits which came with certain PN accounts years ago. 

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Or even IPs that their LP providers (or themselves) have got correctly identified as being UK.😁

John
RichV
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: Friday

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Thanks Rob but to be fair to Plusnet, it looks like a problem at Eurocarparts. Apparently,  their IP-location data is way out of date

and this is the root cause. I have contacted Euro Car Parts about this.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

@RichV If you ever get an intelligent response from ECP, could you let us know what they say, please?😉

John
RichV
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: Friday

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Of course, no problem. this is what I sent:

 

Hi, after a long discussion with Plusnet Technical Support (just finished this morning) they said I need to get in touch with you.

Apparently your IP-location data is way out of date and needs to be corrected. This conclusion was reached after three days of tracing so I hope you can look into it. Many thanks.
 
RobPN
Hero
Posts: 3,590
Thanks: 1,535
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

@RichV 

A possible workaround, depending on which make of car you require parts for, as an alternative you could try GSFcarparts   (GermanSwedishFrench)  Wink

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router


@RichV wrote:

Of course, no problem. this is what I sent:

 

Hi, after a long discussion with Plusnet Technical Support (just finished this morning) they said I need to get in touch with you.

Apparently your IP-location data is way out of date and needs to be corrected. This conclusion was reached after three days of tracing so I hope you can look into it. Many thanks.
 

Sounds fair enough to me, @RichV .

John
RichV
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: Friday

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

Thanks Rob I checked out you link and they look good. However whilst checking out your site I also tried Euro Car Parts and I 

connected.

 

Nothing changed on my side, couldn't connect since moving over to Plusnet, couldn't connect this morning but can as of now. 

Maybe this is temporary, I hope not, however I'll try again in the morning. 

corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 554
Thanks: 283
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

@jab1 , why is this thought to be a geo-block? I can't see any evidence for that, unless I've missed something in the thread.

Out of interest I've just tried browsing from IP addresses that geo-locate to the USA and Germany, and have no problem connecting - so if they are geo-blocking they aren't doing it on being UK based.

jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,938
Thanks: 2,000
Fixes: 60
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Can't access Website on Plusnet Router

After following this through and thinking about it a little bit, I may have been wrong, but it was strange that two people reported the same problem on the same day, both of whose IPs were in ranges which I thought had been transferred some time ago from BT America.

As the OP on this thread at least has now sorted the problem, it is rather academic, but there WAS a problem with ECP blocking what their database identified as non-UK addresses sometime last year - another thread I followed back then until it was resolved.

I am now left wondering if they have now decided to suspend geo-blocking until they have sorted their databases.

The strange bit to this is that Eurocarparts IP itself resolves back to BT?Huh

John