Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion BiPac 3100SN Wi-Fi Extenders.

thunderer
Grafter

Billion BiPac 3100SN Wi-Fi Extenders.

Hi.
Just wondering if anyone has bought any Billion BiPac 3100SN Wi-Fi extenders, if so how easy are they to set up?
Are they easy for a complete novice like me who has no idea about IP addresses etc to set up and use?
Do they setup using WPS so I can just press a button on the router & it and it sets itself up or does it require a load of inputs via a RJ45 Ethernet cable?
Your help & advice would be appreciated.
28 REPLIES 28
nanotm
Pro
Fixes: 2

Re: Billion BiPac 3100SN Wi-Fi Extenders.

I think you need a second home plug connected to your router for it to work,
the product page on billons website mentions it being a powerline unit, http://www.billion.com/product/wireless/bipac3100sn-Wireless-N-Wall-Plug-Ethernet-Access-Point.html
your best bet for any advice on the device and how simple or otherwise it is would be the dedicated forum http://billion.uk.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=11&sid=c28632b0a26df5db76d518e9d604e894
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
pwatson
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

(It's not Powerline, and doesn't say that it is...)
It's a wifi repeater and a bridge for wired devices.  It does seem to require WDS support on the wireless hardware you want to connect it to though.  What are you hoping to achieve?
nanotm
Pro

my mistake I was looking at more than one device on the website,
it would appear that (having looked at the product pages) the 3100sn can be used as a plug and play access point in WDS repeater mode (push the wps button on the router and the ap to join them and it does everything automatically) with an Ethernet connection to the router or you can use it in bridge mode to connect another pair of ap units to the router wirelessly

if your not keen on stringing a long Ethernet cable round you home you might be better off getting one of these