cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Hi. Anyone using the Billion BiPAC 8800NL on their PN fibre connection? Just send back a Technicolor TG589vs and looking for something else. this seems to do what I want and would appreciate any feedback.
Thanks
32 REPLIES
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Am I going to be the guinea pig then?
Mark
NoZephy
Rising Star
Posts: 190
Thanks: 12
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Looks that way, let us know how you get on Grin
I'll be moving to Fibre in a few months and this router was on my possible upgrade list so it'd be nice to know how it holds up from someone else on PN.
The only issue I see with it is that it doesn't seem to support vectoring?
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,938
Thanks: 357
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

I gather it supports vectoring.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Can only say its very good on ADSL for long lines, since getting it my connection simply does not drop at all unless PN or BT are doing work
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Ordered today from eBuyer. £62.99 with free delivery.
Mark
NoZephy
Rising Star
Posts: 190
Thanks: 12
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

So it will support vectoring once Billion see vectoring implemented.
I'm definitely grabbing one of these! Cheesy
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

So it arrived today. I saved myself £6 in next day delivery charges too  Cheesy
So, out of the box:


It wasn't as easy to get set up as I had hoped. I followed instructions from the Billion forums and I could get a connection and sync, but no connection to the internet. I tried several times, then tried the easy set up. The easy set up failed several times, so I went back to manual again. The second attempt at manual set up showed a connection success.

Sync is showing as 48 down and 15 up, so happy with that  Smiley.

And this is the manual set up page. Time to sit back, relax and try to work out port forwarding now!!

Mark
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,646
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

What does "vectoring" mean? Note that a vector is a noun, not a verb.

NoZephy
Rising Star
Posts: 190
Thanks: 12
Registered: 27-01-2015

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Thanks for all the screenshots and pictures Smiley
How is it so far? aside from the setup, any problems in terms of stability etc?
Razorback
Grafter
Posts: 208
Registered: 08-08-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

@ Marksfish    Have you used the router to replace the openreach modem as well?
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,676
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-02-2013

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

I have the 7800dxl router and I found it much simpler to just enable upnp than use port forwarding, the up side being no limitation to the number of machines that can have forwarded ports
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Quote from: NoZephy
How is it so far? aside from the setup, any problems in terms of stability etc?

It's been rock solid since I put it in, no wireless dropouts and an average 38MB download through the wireless on my laptop. Happy with it so far, will test wireless range over the weekend.

Quote from: Razorback
@ Marksfish    Have you used the router to replace the openreach modem as well?

Yes, the OR modem has been consigned to a box  Smiley

Quote from: nanotm
I have the 7800dxl router and I found it much simpler to just enable upnp than use port forwarding, the up side being no limitation to the number of machines that can have forwarded ports

My webcam didn't need configuring at all. I just added the no-ip information and away it went. On Technicolr router and Sky previously, I had to faff around, this was much quicker and easier Smiley
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,305
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Does it give you noise margin etc.
Marksfish
Grafter
Posts: 321
Registered: 22-11-2014

Re: Billion BiPAC 8800NL users on fibre

Yes, there is a page full of figures and stuff. I can't pretend to understand what they all mean, but a screeshot shows what you are looking for (I think)

There is also what appears to be an option in the settinggs to set your own snr level too.
For a basic user like myself, there is plenty to play with (and hopefully not break)
Mark