cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's going on!!!

Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

What's going on!!!


Hi all
My original line check revealed upto 2 M connection.
Since i have been getting drop outs and poor down load speed i thought I would check using Speedtest. Got UL 380K, DL 290k.....(seems about right )
Checked there were not problems at plusnet. Used their speed check and got UL 378K, DL 1.31M.  Sad
Rechecked using Speedtest again 380, and 290 as previous.....
Whos right?
Thought I would do line check (via plusnet site) and now BT say the line is only good to 1M. Is this a means of getting out of providing a decent service?
Sometimes the download is acceptable at about 1.5 M although when I first went on I was getting over 2M.
On getting the line originally I asked for the engineer to attend but they didn't, just turned on at exchange despite me confirming I needed the engineer to change the socket to nte5.
I took a day off, lost time and had to pay them £140.00, what a con. Cry
The process you have to go through with Plusnet isn't very easy, each seemingly passing the buck.
Perhaps a Vodaphone dongle would be better!
I'll persist a'while longer.
Yes I know that speed changes in the evening etc........ blah blah.. but it seems that the lower speed users suffer more than the higher ones.
Perhaps i'm wrong Roll eyes
Keep smiling.


25 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

a) PN think that speedtest.net results are flaky
b) what is your profile https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
c) what package are you on
d) how long have you been connected
e)have you done the accepted PN speed test http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/
f)can you do a BT test? http://www.speedtester.bt.com/
g) can you get your router stats, if not what router have you got
after that little lot, some of the experts on this forum can give a lot to new users.
Welcome to the forum Smiley Smiley
Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: What's going on!!!

Hi Pierre-pierre
a. ok
b. Plusnet reports 1500k
c. Broad band plus ( old package)
d. 2005 but 18 months at this premises
e just tested ul 380K,  DL 170K  Undecided
f doesn't seem to work at the moment
g linksys wag 200g, will have to check stats
Have had several problems over the years. None ever attrubutable to my end! Someone checks and then it seems ok for a while.
Thanks for the reply. Smiley
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

as a hint how to get your stats see here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php unfortunatley it hasnt got the 200, lots of others
Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: What's going on!!!

Info off router
DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: G.dmt
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 1856 kbps  (HuhHuh?)
Upstream Rate: 448 kbps
Downstream Margin: 8 db
Upstream Margin: 21 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 57 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0
Perhaps I should update the router?
I know interleave can slow things but does imrove reliability.

 
   
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

OK one of the experts can now tell you some more things to do, you line can support 1856, but you are not getting it
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

If interleaving isn't applied - and there is no deleterious effect of having it applied unless you are into gaming - then error rates can have a serious effect on effective speeds.
Does your router report errors and if so what are they and over what time.
Unless you are a serious gamer I would definitely recommend have interleaved enabled.
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re:What"s going on!!!

Hi,
Do the router logs show a dropping connection at all? You can see this by the uptime, and in most routers can see connection logs going back at least a week.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,814
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

Interleaving is already enabled Jim
Quote
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved

This is a bit odd though
Quote
Downstream Line Attenuation: 57 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db

You would normally expect Downstream Attentuation to be about twice the Upstream, that is almost four times!!
Have you tried the router in the test socket, and are the stats any different ?
Failing that , any chance of trying with another router ?
Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: What's going on!!!

Hi
Thanks for replies.
For info ;
14.45 pm tested at bt and 3200 DL and 380 UL.  Speeds ok at this point in time.
Have another router to try if and when it drops again.
I believe that on my plusnet contract I shouldn't be throttled back in the evening, but I could be wrong!!!
Cost is £14.99/ month at the moment.
Need to change old BT socket to NTE5. Since we are having new windows (cable set into window frame) I though I would cough up and have it moved to a more convenient place.
Wish I hadn't bothered to ask price; £198.00.  Angry  Its cheaper to have a new line!!!!!! Roll eyes
Role on decent competition rather than extortionate monopoly.
I'll keep you abreast of any changes.
It may be that the problem has gone away for a while?
Dojomat
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,814
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

Quote
14.45 pm tested at bt and 3200 DL and 380 UL

Not quite sure what you mean here, tested connected to where ? given that you havent got an NTE5 its obviously can't be at the test socket.
Can you possibly explain a bit more and maybe post the router stats again now, so we can see the differences.
Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: What's going on!!!

Hi
Sorry, some of the info was incorrect on last post.
Test below at approx 9.00pm
BT speed test gives                  1320K DL  -  448K UL (MISSED OFF THE 1 nad put a zero on, ON PREVIOUS POST but tonights test is about the same as earlier)
Did a test on speedtest              180K DL  -  180UL
Also Mybroadband speedtest    170K DL    -  316  UL
Downlaods are definately slow  Embarrassed
Will do test tomorrow at 6:30 am and post,
Why the variations? Am I being throttled to the point of passing out  Shocked
Thanks all
Dojomat
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

oooh this looks very similar to my  (and a load of others') problem at the moment so it might be worth raising a ticket , and posting all your stats at http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,79756.0  if you can't get a resolution from the advice you're getting in this thread
Dojomat
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎27-10-2009

Re: What's going on!!!

06.30 am
bt tests  - much the same - probably ok
MyBB        -  dl - 1425,  ul 380
Speedtest  dl - 1400,  ul 380
The 2 other sites are similar to bt this morning.
So who is to blame?

Router info
DSL Status: Connected
DSL Modulation Mode: G.dmt
DSL Path Mode: Interleaved
Downstream Rate: 1856 kbps
Upstream Rate: 448 kbps
Downstream Margin: 9 db
Upstream Margin: 20 db
Downstream Line Attenuation: 56 db
Upstream Line Attenuation: 15.5 db
Downstream Transmit Power: 0
Upstream Transmit Power: 0

Interesting to note that others have similar issues, i sympathise with them.
I feel the info illiminates my end but am open to suggestions.
Tried the no noise test on telephone line but there is a background noise even afetr turning off and disconnecting router and anything else that might interfere.
This is with the phone directly in the socket. I dont use wireless phones either.
Ah well, off to work.
Dojomat


Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,814
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: What's going on!!!

Quote
Tried the no noise test on telephone line but there is a background noise even afetr turning off and disconnecting router and anything else that might interfere.
This is with the phone directly in the socket. I dont use wireless phones either.

If thats the case then report a voice fault to your phone supplier ( dont mention broadband ). If you have an issue with noise on voice then it very likely will be affecting the bb speed and until that is fixed you are fighting a losing battle trying to improve speed.