cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching from Bt Infinity to Plusnet Fibre. Could do better

alsw123

Switching from Bt Infinity to Plusnet Fibre. Could do better

Firstly i want to say i am all sorted now, but your systems could be better. I'm an applicaitons engineer but i can imagine it would be much worse if you aren't technical
I ordered Fibre on the 26th of March. This order got stuck and looking at the topics on the forums here and at think broadbad it seems i am not the only one this happened too so clearly the system isn't quite right. Nothing had changed so I called up on the 2nd of April. I was told it had gotten stuck but then the order was progressed but still it wasn't due to switch until just after midnight on the 16th of April which is longer than generally quoted anyway.
This was disappointing as it means i have to pay BT for longer at a much higher price.
- Then this morning i wake up at 6am go to check the traffic online and suprise suprise no internet. I recieved no text or anything from Plusnet. First i reboot the openreach modem and my Bt Home Bub. No joy. So i switch everything off  franctically connect the Plusnet router to the openreach modem and try to connect. I leave it the suggested 15 minutes before doing anything.
- No joy, browser brings up the plusnet router page saying auth failiure, as i am  multi tasking and doing this while eating my breakfast. I have to head out the door late for work and leaving my partner who is working from home today with no internet.
- Got to work and Plusnet helpfully emailed me this morning  at 7,13am saying a BT Engineer will visit me today, soooo just the standard email that nobody has bothered to customize, good job i know the process won't require a visit.
- Call plusnet all has switched overnight  but i didn't recieve a text message to tell me it had.