cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed after 10 days with PlusNet

hogesar

Speed after 10 days with PlusNet

Hello!
New PN customer here. Switchover was smooth, which im thankful for. Was with o2 beforehand, and if anyone is considering moving to them, probably best to think again! Went with them for a UK call centre, shame it didnt' make the people on the end of the phone any better at dealing with your issues! (slightly less frustrating mind). Moved to plusnet to keep the UK based call centre, haven't had to use it yet!
Broadband is under my fathers name, with me being the 19 year old son. However, i work in IT so deal with everything that comes our way regarding internet, networking etc.
First piece of bad news is you use the same router as o2 (who want theirs back after 18 months with them!), but i can cope with that. Not as bad as what Tiscali supplied me the year before..
Okay, line tests etc say i can achieve 3.5mb, but the most i've ever got is 2.5mb. Not just with you, with ANYONE. I'm thinking its my wiring upstairs, as the house has been extended on top and some handyman who lived here before clearly fancied himself as an amateur electrician. How badly could his wiring of phone lines affect my speeds? Is it worth trying the main phone socket downstairs first before anything else? We have a main socket, as in the primary one which enters the house, but we don't have a test socket....strange.  Angry
Thought i'd post on here and see whats what - at work we're now looking for a new business ISP, but didn't want to look into PlusNet so soon if there are persistant problems (although that may have naff all relevance to you - like i said, probably my end!)
Thanks!
P.S - Like your music taste, and style Adam!  Tongue
5 REPLIES 5
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: Speed after 10 days with PlusNet

Hi hogesar :
Welcome to the darkside...err I mean Plusnet and to the forum!