cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sam knows testing

rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: 23-01-2009

Sam knows testing

Guys
Here an idea us lot who getting poor speed with plus net why not join Sam knows testing and show plus net up
82 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Sam knows testing

Are you trying wired speed tests?
rookey
Grafter
Posts: 572
Registered: 23-01-2009

Re: Sam knows testing

Yes
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Sam knows testing

I have joined Sam Knows and am awaiting receipt of the "white box" - the only thing is I am on a gigabit network and I used to be with BT and was using an older white box which was 100mps.
I have emailed Sam Knows to ask if any of the newer boxes have a gigabit ethernet port and if not then I will just send it back.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 68
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: Sam knows testing

I was accepted by Sam Knows but inquired about using power line adaptors with their equipment and they don't recommend it  Cry
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Sam knows testing

Although there is nothing wrong with speeds or service, I did have a few problems when I was with BT, also had BT TV at the time, and missed out on a few recordings of the MotoGP, so having something to monitor the line should help.
That said, I too use Gig ports, especially on my NAS, and would not like to go back to 100Mbps, so mine will be going back too if its not Gig!
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Sam knows testing

It seems that versions 5.0 and 8.0 of the whitebox have gig ehternet (https://www.samknows.com/broadband/uploads/methodology/SQ303-002-EN-Whitebox-Briefing-Fixed.pdf - scroll down to page 6 of the pdf) - I hope they send me either of these.
Rick.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000
Necroscope445
Dabbler
Posts: 23
Registered: 07-10-2015

Re: Sam knows testing

Awaiting white box here, though wont do anything for my current situation, got it more to submit data for rural broadband issues.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Sam knows testing

I've been on SamKnows about three years. My 'black' white-box is a T-Link with gigabyte lan ports!  Smiley
Geoff,
York.
DaveyH
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,342
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 9
Registered: 15-11-2012

Re: Sam knows testing

I've been on Samknows for a few years, I was originally supplied the 'whitebox'  with 100Mb LAN (TP-Link WR741) which they then replaced with the black whitebox, a TP-Link WDR3600 which has Gb LAN after asking.
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Sam knows testing

My Sam Knows box is just plugged into a switch port on my network rather than as a 'through' device as shown on their installation guide.  As a result I don't care whether it's got a gigabit port or not Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,405
Thanks: 997
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sam knows testing

doesn't that potentially muck up the results if the speed test is done while something else is monopolising the connection
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Sam knows testing

Potentially yes but, looking at the monthly report, in practice no.  I have had the Sam Knows box lock up on more than one occasion and stop submitting data until a reboot so I'm not happy to pass all my traffic through it...
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 5
Registered: 11-12-2013

Re: Sam knows testing

the samknows box is designed to delay or cancel a test if the internet is in use.
ricke17
Grafter
Posts: 412
Thanks: 5
Registered: 19-01-2015

Re: Sam knows testing

That's good to know - I work from home and access a VPN for the office and download large files too.
It worked ok with my BT line - just hope they send me a GB version.
Fibre Broadband 80/20, Netgear D7000