cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Failure

thebrewingman
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Router Failure

Just wanted to thank the help line for the assistance they gave me this morning when I could not connect to the internet.  They were spot on - router failure.  A new one has sorted the problem.
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Router Failure

Thanks very much for the feedback, glad it got sorted and that our team were able to help Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 22-06-2012

Re: Router Failure

I wonder how long it will take for PN to upgrade the "free" router that they insist on inflicting on their customers. It must cost a fortune in postage sending out the replacements. It's the only chink in PN's otherwise faultless armour.
If anyone needs one I've both PN ADSL & Fibre routers gathering dust in the cupboard.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Failure

For the cost of postage, of course  Grin Grin
Don't forget, if you do dispose of them, to get Plusnet to "de-register" them from your account. If they were to be used on a line with a Plusnet realm, they could be logging to account  otherwise!
Nacho
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 13-03-2013

Re: Router Failure

Anotherone - i had wondered about this but could you explain a bit more to a layman like myself... when plusnet send out the router, is it set up for the user already? Or is it just at the point that the user plugs it all in that it automatically puts the users account (user@plusdsl.com and password) on it?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Failure

Yes, the TR-069 system will put the details in when you plug it into a line that can use Plusnet.
Nacho
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 13-03-2013

Re: Router Failure

Thanks. I take it that only works with the plusnet branded routers. How complicated is it to set up your own router? On one of plusnets help pages it says its just a case of entering your username and password but on another it says you're best off using their router unless your 'technically minded' which makes it sound tricky to set your own up.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Router Failure

As long as you can find where to enter your user name and password it's very straightforward with the vast majority of routers.
Most UK supplied routers will default to suitable settings for BT based ADSL.
If there's any difficulty then there's plenty of help here.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Router Failure

No it's not only Plusnet that use it. There's a lot of people that haven't got a clue, that's why the TR-069 system was invented. But for those with a bit of a technical know how it's fairly straight forward.