cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with my Plusnet account, tried everything for weeks, any ideas anyone?

jethro10
Grafter

Problem with my Plusnet account, tried everything for weeks, any ideas anyone?

Hi,
anyone any ideas what I can do to try and help get my problem fixed?
About 6-12 months ago, I noticed excessive usage. After many test, I decided the fault was not mine and must be Plusnet's so reported it to them.
I'm an IT manager, so not totally daft, and well versed in logical problem solving,
The final test was using 3 different routers. All different models, two different brands, and one does not have wifi. Wifi disabled in the firmware of the other two.
When router is switched on, but no wifi and network cable disconnected, I get about 70% of the time, phantom usage on my account of between 200 and 750mb per hour. Totally reproducable on any of 3 routers and I reproduce it almost daily for them, and have reported daily findings several times..
I phoned them on the 19th October and described the problem. The guy agreed, reckoned he could see no real router usage at their end, just saw it on my account record and set up a fault ticket:-
https://portal.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=47869712
since then, I've had to start again describing my problem 3 more times, so now 4 in total.
And the basic start point is "are you sure you have wifi disabled, are you sure no one has your password" etc. Do they not read previous comments about the 3 routers?
Culminating in attempt 4 today.
I'm totally exasperated by Plusnet support, most of the guys seem very knowledgeable, but I always have to restart.
the guy before this one logged a "get back to you tommorow" record, but never did, and I was ignore for 9 days till I reminded them of my problem today, just to be told, Oh, are you sure wifi is..... "AGGGGHHHHH!!!!"