cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet referral system terrible

rtho782
Dabbler

Plusnet referral system terrible

I work in IT and am the most "technical" of my friends. I'm the one people come to for technical advice.
Since joining plusnet a month or so ago, I've been working on getting others to join as referrals. Imagine my surprise today when I discover that the first person to actually move can't put me as a referral, because plusnet are paying £100 through quidco but this excluses referrals.
So now I either rip of my other friends by £100 or I do plusnets advertising and recruitment for free.
Guess I'll be recommending a different ISP then.
10 REPLIES 10
Razorback
Grafter

Re: Plusnet referral system terrible

I signed to PlusNet via Quidco and the T&Cs clearly said you could not use a referral code too. Given that Quidco’s role is effectively working as the referrer and so it is not surprising that other referrals are not allowed.
RobPN
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 13

Quote from: rtho782

So now I either rip of my other friends by £100 or I do plusnets advertising and recruitment for free.
Guess I'll be recommending a different ISP then.

That makes it sound like you were only recommending PN on the basis of personal financial gain anyway, and not on whatever merits of PN you would advise as beneficial to your friends.   Undecided
rtho782
Dabbler

If there were no referral system I'd recommend plusnet.
Having a referral system but then using bait and switch tactics to make it ineligible is dishonest enough to put me off entirely
adie:quote
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

It is absolutely clear that referral "bonus" is only payable on direct sign-ups and not those signed up via third party REFERRAL systems.
What is dishonest about that?
£100 cash back AND your referral credit - what do you think would be left out of a year's contract fees with which to deliver the service?