cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,187
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Phantom Upload uncapper is back

I had opted out of it happening due to my slow connection, which hovers around 4-4.5mbit and drops to under 4mbit on bad days making on-demand painful.  So lost 0.5mbit from my speed during a good connection period due to the uncapping, hate to think of it when the weather turns bad.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
44 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

As I was constantly reminded some time back - you shouldn't lose any download speed with an uncapped upstream unless you are on a business package with Annex M.  Maybe it just happened at a bad time and a resync at a good time will cure it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,971
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Odd.  My upstream has also been mysteriously uncapped as well....
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,115
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Dave has been running a program for uncapping the 21CN base where their lines are above a certain tolerance.  May be you've been sucked into that.  He can check tomorrow.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,971
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Thanks kelly, be interesting to know if this is the case, and its not the dlm having a moment
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,156
Thanks: 303
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Me too!
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

I noticed that mine was uncapped yesterday. Currently synced with 660kbps up (no impact on downstream), and it seems stable so far, so I'm sort of regretting not asking to have it uncapped sooner.  Smiley I just assumed that it wouldn't be worth it on my 67dB line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Quote from: Anotherone
As I was constantly reminded some time back - you shouldn't lose any download speed with an uncapped upstream unless you are on a business package with Annex M.  Maybe it just happened at a bad time and a resync at a good time will cure it.

Not totally true. On some lines performing at the lower end (probably at a level where the ADSL2+/ADSL2 performance is no better than ADSL1) there have been observed small drops is download throughput (possibly due to an increased error rate on the upload).
That's the reason for (my bold):
Quote from: Kelly
Dave has been running a program for uncapping the 21CN base where their lines are above a certain tolerance.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Wish mine would hurry up and get uncapped.
Quote from: Anotherone
As I was constantly reminded some time back - you shouldn't lose any download speed with an uncapped upstream unless you are on a business package with Annex M.

Why does the Plusnet email tell us we'll lose some down speed after requesting uncapping, then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

To cover their backs!
Really the email should say 'may' not 'will'.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Definitely says 'will'. I'm also disappointed to see it saying the uncap will be for an upload speed of 1Mbps, when as I understand it, ADSL2+ is supposed to be an upload speed of 1.5Mbps on my line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

They are required to say the speed achieved by a certain percentage of users which is why they quote the lower figure. If you are really close to the exchange you may see better than that.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 6
Registered: 17-11-2012

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Ah, I see. Thanks for that. Yes, I am a touch under 1/4 mile from the exchange, ACF. My line is supposed to be a touch under 3/4 mile (though I'm not sure how accurate that is). I'm not hopeful though as my DL speed is slower than a previous account elsewhere and when on a longer line - though I understand that may have something to do with my line quality.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,115
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

Gus:  Just confirming, Dave did upgrade you.  Sorry about that!
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 866
Thanks: 122
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: Phantom Upload uncapper is back

If I want the 448 kbps upstream rate cap reinstated on my connection, do I have to go through the long winded procedure of raising a fault ticket, or can I raise a normal ticket for someone's direct attention?