Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No broadband for a week

ihc77
Dabbler

No broadband for a week

Ticket 31356631
I've been without broadband for a week now, and technical support don't seem to be doing anything.
The problem happened suddenly last Monday, 28thDecember. I tried installing the new Thomson router that I'd ordered so I wouldn't be offline for long if the old one failed.  I then spoke to support, and tried everything suggested - new microfilter, disconnecting the phone (this line only has a master socket).  Plusnet can see from their end that the router only connects for a few seconds at a time, possibly once every few hours.  The only way that I can monitor this is by staring at the lights flashing on the router.
After a day, I was told that BT would be asked to turn on interleaving.  I'm not a techie, but I've since read up a bit about it, and it doesn't seem to be the right cure for a line which was working perfectly well and suddenly stopped.
After no further response for a few days, I phoned support again on Saturday, and they seemed unaware that the problem is total lack of broadband. They seemed to think it was just occasional dropouts.  I was promised that somebody would contact me by today, but nobody has.
When interleaving was turned on, support wrote
"If you are still seeing problems with interleaving switched on, please return this Question to us with as much detail about your problem as possible. Thank you for your time and patience."
The next day I replied, giving as much information as I could think of, and asking if sending an event log would help.  No response!
Although we have got the free interim dialup, the whole family is having to traipse up to the library to log on there.  I am at a friend's house typing this because the forum doesn't load from dialup!
Please, please, could somebody get back to me ASAP.  I can see only 2 possibilities for the cause of the problem: