cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New signup router

happybunny
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

New signup router

My in-laws have recently signed up to PN - go live in 1 week.  Due to BB issues with their existing ISP we recently purchased a new router to rule out issues with their existing 5 year old one.  PN has insisted on them taking a PN router during the signup process.  Ok it's only paying the P&P, but when their existing router is brand new and not tied to an ISP, it's just not necessary.
Is this a new policy for PN?
HB.
14 REPLIES
x47c
Grafter
Posts: 878
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2009

Re: New signup router

I suspect it's to do with fixing the line in the event of a fault.
Plusnet can ask/tell you to put their own router in place so they can run their customised tests on the line knowing exactly what is the equipment and what firmware it has on it at the end of the line.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,177
Thanks: 482
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: New signup router

I don't think Plusnet have any customised tests - they use the same BTWholesale tests / fault diagnostic systems as any other ISP that uses BTWholesale.
I thought the 582n router was only mandatory for FTTC (where it is even less relevant for line faults since it's the openreach supplied VDSL2 modem that's connected to the line).
glloyd
Rising Star
Posts: 1,667
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New signup router

I thought the router was optional because if you leave within a year you have to pay for it. I would double check if I were you.
All4One
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎17-03-2013

Re: New signup router

I just signed my parents over to PN from BT and opted not to take a router. I just used their Home Hub 3.
happybunny
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

Re: New signup router

That's what I was expecting, but the agent was adamant they take a PN router even though they explained they had a band new router!!
The only advantage I can see for PN is remote diagnostics of the router and auto setup.
All4One
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎17-03-2013

Re: New signup router

The autosetup yes, which would help for people not knowing anything about computers/routers. Possibly the sales team not knowing you can use other routers?  Cheesy
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New signup router

You shouldn't have been forced to take a router.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
happybunny
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

Re: New signup router

Might be worth you having a listen to the call. I wasn't there so only relaying what they told me.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: New signup router

can you post a ticket number from the account or alternatively send me a PM with the username and I will ensure the staff get it
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New signup router

We'll have a look.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
happybunny
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

Re: New signup router

Any update?
86402130
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: New signup router

Hey, we listened to the call but there really wasn't a discussion on there about not taking the router.  Crossed lines perhaps?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
happybunny
Grafter
Posts: 32
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎17-09-2012

Re: New signup router

Hi Kelly,
Thanks for having a listen.  One of us must have got hold of the wrong end of the stick..... Shocked Shocked
They've switch their BB today, but could not get the router to work.  A fairly quick call to support sorted that and they were impressed with the agent who helped them.  Smiley
Thanks. HB.
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2007

Re: New signup router

Hi happybunny,
Glad to hear everything is switched over and they're now up and running!
Thanks for taking the time to give us the feedback.