cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My PlusNet FTTC experience - the ups and downs.

picbits
Rising Star

My PlusNet FTTC experience - the ups and downs.

Ok - I'm now with Plusnet.
I was previously with BE. I host my own email / websites and use a few Gb a day but not a prolific downloader. Recently the addition of a couple of extra Tablets and a growing stroppy teenager had me looking at a better solution to my current 6Mb (max) ADSL2+ connection.
I did some research, BT were hounding me to take FTTC from them - I was getting a call a month from them but each time I asked them if they offered a static IP - each time they had to go away and check. Know your product BT Sales teams ...
Most offerings were not suitable, either capped, too expensive, no static IP or not available to me. I've been an IT Pro for years and tend to keep up with the latest advances in technology.
Then I spotted the half price for 6 month offer on FTTC on the HotUkDeals site - unlimited and no traffic shaping (other than QOS stuff). Free connection if I went for the phone line and cashback through Quidco. There was also the offer of a Static IP for a fiver - what could be better !
I did the line check - the line was enabled and I could expect around 50Mb accoring to all the speed checker sites. I contacted Plusnet a couple of times on live chat and asked various questions. The most important was "How long after placing my order could I get the Static IP sorted - the answer was immediately (more about that later).
Research done, I costed everything up - with the phone line, broadband and cashback I would be around £4 a month better off with 8x the current download speed. I've heard good and bad things about Plusnet but from previous experience you find people moan a lot more when things go wrong than giving praise for thing that go right.
7th Jan 2013