cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

probedb
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-10-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

If you click the 'Deutsch/English' hyperlinks on that first one, you'll notice that the location is reported correctly. Of the others, I've submitted corrections for those that provide a mechanism of getting in touch with them.
Edit: Ignore my first statement, clicking the hyperlinks changes the lookup to use the IP address that I'm currently assigned.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

probedb
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-10-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: Bob
If you click the 'Deutsch/English' hyperlinks on that first one, you'll notice that the location is reported correctly. Of the others, I've submitted corrections for those that provide a mechanism of getting in touch with them.
Edit: Ignore my first statement, clicking the hyperlinks changes the lookup to use the IP address that I'm currently assigned.

Cheers Bob Smiley I managed to disconnect/reconnect a couple of times and get an old skool plusnet IP.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: Bob
I've reached out to Dropbox to ask that they update the database they're using for geolocation.

Apparently they're too busy to deal with my request Shocked
[quote author="Dropbox"]Hi,
Thanks for writing in. While we'd love to answer every question we get, we unfortunately can't respond to your inquiry due to a large volume of support requests. Here are some resources for resolving the most common issues:

Restore files or folders - www.dropbox.com/help/969
Reset your Dropbox password - www.dropbox.com/forgot
Reset/Disable two-step verification - www.dropbox.com/help/364
Learn about sharing files or folders - www.dropbox.com/help/category/Sharing
Learn about Dropbox's desktop app - www.dropbox.com/help/category/Desktop
Learn about Dropbox's mobile apps - www.dropbox.com/help/category/Mobile
For all other issues, please check out our Help Center - www.dropbox.com/help
We're sorry for the inconvenience,
The Dropbox Team
I've bounced the message back to them, but I wouldn't hold your breath.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

probedb
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎05-10-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Not to worry, I know what the issue is now Smiley
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,736
Thanks: 128
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2013

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

www.tauntondeane.gov.uk
keeps saying it cannot access the website address,
You are currently connected to gateway pcl-ag04
146.90.247.160
don't know if the problem is related to site maint or not I haven't tried to access it for some months but none of it was operating earlier when I was trying to look something up
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,970
Thanks: 1,282
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

The site works for me, including navigation, using FF 32.0.3 or 33.0 (just updated), or using IE9. I'm on ptw-ag02.
The IP you are on is from an older range, I wouldn't expect to see any geo location problems with that one.
David
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,736
Thanks: 128
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2013

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

yeah it worked a few mins after I made the post /
probably a server issue at the council.....
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Why wouldn't plusnet use BTs IP addresses?  Since they are owned by them.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: NorthEasterner
Why wouldn't plusnet use BTs IP addresses?

I think you may have missed the inference I made here Wink

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

petecov44
Grafter
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎29-05-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

On the address I am on right now I keep getting told I can use google.ca as well as when I search on sites I get California listings. I removed my static earlier and did a reboot of the TC router.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I got this before on my BT connection - I was like WHAT?
Although I ran a speedtest and it showed I was in the UK.
However my daughter claims that she received an email from Facebook asking her to double check that she logged in Canada - the IP address was showing up as Canadian. 
It however resolved itself the next day
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
petecov44
Grafter
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎29-05-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I have dropped PPP and got a new address and that shows that I am in the UK
Iplayer played before which I found odd as it was saying I can in Canada, Hotmail also had a security fit.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: petecov44
On the address I am on right now I keep getting told I can use google.ca as well as when I search on sites I get California listings.

I suspect this thread is going to get a bit livelier over the coming weeks. Looking at the IP you had Pete, addresses from a new subnet are now being assigned (146.199.0.0/16). Probably coincides with the enabling of PTN-BNG02 this week.
What website are you referring to? Google itself? AFAICT google.ca is the Canadian variant, which would be doubly odd as these IP's have never had any affiliation with that part of the world Huh
Edit: Corrected as per Reply #60

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

@Bob Pullen
Google.ca is the Canadian variant of Google.
The USA/American Google is 'Google.com'
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up