cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Sorry, I meant to say 'Canadian' in my previous post (the French language hyperlink is a dead giveaway).
It would have made perfect sense had it been Californian.
I've duly edited my post. Thanks for calling it out.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

No problem  Grin
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
kjpetrie
Rising Star
Posts: 149
Thanks: 21
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎19-12-2010

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I've been asked to report my experience here.
PN's SMTP server will not recognise mail submitted from 146.199.97.210 as coming from a customer and rejects it with "Relay denied"
PN's main home page cannot handle requests from that address and fails with an Internal Server Error.
It appears PN has not fully propagated these new addresses through its systems and I suppose that is what this thread is for, but most customers are not sufficiently savvy to realise why things suddenly don't work, so don't think to report here.
I suspect most of the problems customers are suddenly experiencing in recent days can be attributed to this change, not just the ones reported on this thread.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: kjpetrie
PN's SMTP server will not recognise mail submitted from 146.199.97.210 as coming from a customer and rejects it with "Relay denied"

This was fixed on Monday afternoon.
Quote from: kjpetrie
PN's main home page cannot handle requests from that address and fails with an Internal Server Error.

This I was unable to replicate when assigned an IP from the same block, so I'd appreciate it if people can shout up if they experience the same issue.
Quote from: kjpetrie
It appears PN has not fully propagated these new addresses through its systems and I suppose that is what this thread is for...

On this occasion, we did neglect to add the IP's to the relay ACL. The thread is intended more for sites that 'see' these IP's as being American though, something that would cause problems when accessing certain UK-based services like iPlayer and the National Lottery.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

petecov44
Grafter
Posts: 576
Registered: ‎29-05-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Hi Bob,
Maybe it was Chrome? It said to me something like "use google.ca or keep using google.co.uk" but I ignored it and the next time I went to google It was google.ca
My cache and history and cookies etc all clear when I shut chrome so I have no idea why it happened.
mikko
Grafter
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

It happened to me for the first time today.
My ip address is reported as 146.199.49.66 and the national lottery site won't let me log in, see attached screen cap.
It's the same with chrome and opera.
mikko
Grafter
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Rebooted the router, got a different ip address (now 146.90.73.34) and national lottery can now be logged into (probably saved me a fortune!)
jab1
Hero
Posts: 3,119
Thanks: 982
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

As a point of interest, Speedtest.net thinks I'm with Infonet (IP146.199.72.154)
John
Rev
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Hello all,
I joined Plusnet earlier this week.
Today I tried to use Paypal, but I was unable to pay as the geo-location of my IP resolves to California Sad
I've tried rebooting, but keep getting assigned the same IP. 
Is there anyway I can fix this?  My google account is reporting the non-UK logins as unusual activity.
Thanks
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

What IP do you get?
or http://www.whoismyisp.org/ and it states your ISP at the top of the page.
NE
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,348
Thanks: 2,419
Fixes: 305
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

It's one of the troublesome 146.199.xxx.xxx ones.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 69.0.1 (64-bit)

Life is tough enough without adding Linux into the mix.
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,870
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-09-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Are the servers located in the US?
I would love to have the US domain as then I could watch US TV shows without the use of Hola!
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. TalkTalk Fibre Customer using a TalkTalk WiFi Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Rev
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I'm on the one 146.199.xx.xxx ones.
It reports on some checkers as being UK, but most as California.  Wish I could get it to change now, my online banking will not work now Sad
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,518
Thanks: 5,520
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Hi Rev,
Welcome to the forums.
This is a bit of a pain as some service providers do not maintain current data on geolocation for IP addresses.  The best that you can do for yourself is to log into the router and keep dropping / reconnecting the PPP (internet) session until you see an IP address which is not in the 146.199 range.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 337
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Alternatively you could activate a STATIC IP address on your account, as those addresses are not taken from the 146.199.X.X range.
The instructions to do this are here - How to switch between a dynamic & static address - for a one time payment of £5.
Having a static IP address is also useful for setting up a TBB Broadband Quality Monitor, or a Hurricane Electric IPv6 Tunnel Broker connection.
Wink