cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub one light

Nobluelight
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-11-2021

Hub one light

When you next update the hub one please can you add an option to turn off the blue light and not just dim it.
6 REPLIES 6
Longliner
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 413
Thanks: 196
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: Hub one light

Meantime, try a piece of white insulating tape 😊

newagetraveller
Pro
Posts: 645
Thanks: 133
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2012

Re: Hub one light

Or, and I know it's an added expense, buy a 2nd hand BT Homehub 6. A better router which has a setting to not only dim the blue light but switch it off completely between user determined times.

Nobluelight
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-11-2021

Re: Hub one light

Thanks for the replies but my comment was more for Plusnet to take note. Sticking tape on a router or having to buy a new router proves they are supplying garbage.

As it happens I have a BT router in a bag ready to send back that I never had problems with lol.

Yesterday I had people over who had iPhones and they took my android phone wifi down lol. I had to rename the 5ghz network and in the end figured I would turn it off. I now have an even more annoying orange light. You can't expect an average user to be doing this, very bad kit! Take note Plusnet
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 828
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Hub one light

Then why not use the BT router?

You presumably came to PN to save a few quid, they supply the same router BT did a few years ago - which had the same issues.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

?

Nobluelight
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-11-2021

Re: Hub one light

BT will bill me if I don't send it back apparently, maybe I should find out how much. I have been a Plusnet customer for more years than not. At least I won't need to put up any Christmas lights this year with that thing in the hallway 🤣
Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,479
Thanks: 914
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Hub one light

Personally I would just stick tape over it.

Problem I can see is that if PlusNet were to provide that option, it would make detecting fault a lot more difficult. How can they tell it is an actual fault, or someone just having disabled the light. I suppose there is a bit more to it than that.

I have Branson Media at home (good old monopolies and mergers comission allowing only one company to control this country's entire fibre network 🙄) and my router is just sat on the floor.

I haven't looked but I assume that doesn't have the option to disable the lights either.

Personally unless it is flashing directly into my eyeball whilst I am trying to sleep then it wouldn't bother me. I assume moving it is not an option either?