cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disappointing Service

James
Grafter

Re: Disappointing Service

I'd guess (perhaps incorrectly) that you were actually sending your email via BT Connect, because there's no way our outgoing mail server should have allowed you to send email unauthenticated.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

@gibbinsa,
Thanks for persevering with me.
I have 2 email accounts, one is a BT Connect, the other is Plusnet. The BTConnect account was set up with outgoing server authentication, the PlusNet was never set up in this way

I suspect the answer is there. I'm not an Outlook expert but I believe when sending mail from Outlook, you can select which outgoing server to use and not just use the one set for that account. My guess is that you were actually sending mail via the BT connect smtp server.
Maybe someone more familiar with Outlook could pop in here and advise if that's a feasible explanation.
Edit: James beat me to it, he types faster ( or types less! )

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

gibbinsa
Dabbler

Sorry guys but this isn't the case. The BT connect e-mail account is a business related account with different signatures. I'm very careful not to use this for personal e-mail
It was definitely the mail from the relay.plus.com that I was sending without authentication
James
Grafter

The outgoing mail server is the thing that transports the email.
It doesn't set the signature.  It's just the thing that actually sends it.  I still think you were using the BT server to send your emails.
gibbinsa
Dabbler

In Outlook 2003, I select the account for each e-mail that I send. Mine is set up with 2 options, plus net and BT connect, I've a separate signature on each. The plus net mail goes via the plus net server.