cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current Line Speed

goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Current Line Speed

Can Plusnet please add timestamp on the member here: https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
It quite annoying not knowing what time/date is the last updated. A timestamp would be more helpful.
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,258
Thanks: 198
Fixes: 62
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

Not sure how easy it would be for us to implement that but a fair suggestion goldenadsl
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Current Line Speed

Can Plusnet add Sync rate on the current line speed too. As many peoples reported that BTOR FTTC Modem couldn't get any sync rate because the BTOR modem is locked.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Current Line Speed

It's not something that is readily available to us, if you multiply your IP profile by 1.033 you'll get your sync speed.
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Current Line Speed

1.033 for FTTC, what about ADSL2+?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

1.133786848
(it's been posted hundreds of times on here that the IP Profile is 88.2% of the sync speed)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

Quote from: goldenadsl
Can Plusnet please add timestamp on the member here: https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
It quite annoying not knowing what time/date is the last updated. A timestamp would be more helpful.

That's been asked for, and recognised as a good idea by Plusnet several times before!
Edit: A quick search and I find you were involved in one of the previous discussions about it! http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,101517.msg987965.html#msg987965
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Current Line Speed

Quote from: jelv
That's been asked for, and recognised as a good idea by Plusnet several times before!
Edit: A quick search and I find you were involved in one of the previous discussions about it! http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,101517.msg987965.html#msg987965

It's been taking so long and it probably that plusnet can't be bother to add timestamp on the ip profile where joanne pilson agree with me, it a good idea and will look into this. But, I give up as they won't do it.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

Where have we said we won't do it? Personally I think it's a good idea but it really isn't a high priority compared to fixing problems that are customer impacting.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
syates
Grafter
Posts: 62
Registered: 28-08-2012

Re: Current Line Speed

Yeah.. like you put any priority on that Smiley  been waiting 14 months for you to fix my crappy broadband connection now.
@goldenadsl - I think that is a really good idea.  Mine currently says it is "running" at 7.15 mbps, though I f you then ask for a speedtest (mybroadbandspeed or BT wholesale) you get 3.38mbps.  It would be nice to know how out of date plusnet's infromation is.
dick:quote
goldenfibre
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 48
Fixes: 2
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: Current Line Speed

Yeah 14 months is too long. Broken promise. They won't do it anyway because it isn't high priority. But, I think plusnet should ask the customers in voting if they want the ip profile stamping on their member account yes or no.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

Hi syates, I'm sorry the agent looking after your fault didn't update you this weekend. I've given him a nudge and he'll be in touch with an update at some point today.
Trevor
Grafter
Posts: 124
Thanks: 1
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: Current Line Speed

I've had a synch speed of 6515kb/s for 16 days now but, in spite of my Plusnet speed having updated to 5.7Mb/s, my actual download speed is locked at 4Mb/s, so something else seems to be stuck. Has my line been banded by any chance?
TIA
Trevor
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 900
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed

If it were banded you wouldn't see the higher sync speed.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)