Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A question & a comment (new customer)

BenXFD
Grafter

A question & a comment (new customer)

Hi there!
I registered to move onto PlusNet Fibre Optic Broadband on 22nd July. I didn't have a MAC code to hand at the time and, thanks to a few awkward people at O2, I only received my MAC code yesterday, and i've passed it along to PlusNet and everything seems to be on the go again now. I'm just wondering when an engineer is due to come, as the dates we picked were Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday this week, if I recall. Obviously due to the delay in the MAC code that's not happening but i'm just unsure when to expect them, my order tracker is at the 'Activating Your Line' stage, so i'm not sure whether i'll just get switched over or if someone is actually going to turn up. (Complete newbie to Fibre Optic!).
Also, when I rang up customer services to give my MAC code I was a bit taken aback by the request of my password. Every other company i've dealt with i've had to give identification in the form of my date of birth and memorable information. To outright state my password over a recorded telephone line did make me feel slightly uncomfortable.
Regardless, i'm looking forward to my new service, as O2's offering of 1.5Mb was starting to wear thin!  Wink
9 REPLIES 9
glloyd
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: A question & a comment (new customer)

Normally only asked for part of the password not all of it.
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Welcome to the forum BenXFD Smiley
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Chris
Legend
Fixes: 169

To outright state my password over a recorded telephone line did make me feel slightly uncomfortable.

I'll follow this up as we should only be asking for 2 characters from the password (as that's what we see by default on our internal CRM).