cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What modem?

bill1312
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2018

What modem?

Hi! I am going to install my own router, Asus RT-AC68U.

I have an old  BT Openreach modem (Description NGA ECI-CPE-Modems Type 1B) (Model B-Focus V-2Fub/r Rev B). I am not sure whether it is suitable for connecting to ISP/Router, I am fibre to cabinet. Can anyone tell me if modem will work or not?

Also, To connect the modem do I just have to connect it to telephone line and power to connect automatically? Or is there some set up to go through?

Bill

6 REPLIES 6
mikelahey
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎24-11-2015

Re: What modem?

The ECI B-Focus is designed to work with a fibre to the cabinet connection. The Asus RT-AC68U doen't have a built in VDSL modem so you will need to use the ECI B-Focus modem in conjunction with the RT-AC68U.

Connect the ECI-B Focus DSL port to the micro filter or directly to the DSL port on the phone socket ( if you have one of the new kind with the split face plate) using an RJ11 cable.

 

Connect the LAN 1 on the ECI-B Focus modem to the WAN port of the RT-AC68U using an ethernet cable, power up the modem and the router, configure the router to PPPoE and enter your Plusnet username (format youruser@plusdsl.net) and password into the router.

 

The ECI B-Focus is locked down, so you won't be able to see connection stats e.g. line speed, signal to noise ratio, attenuation etc..

If you want connection stats get youself a Huawei HG612 3B of ebay, which can be unlocked using instructions readily found on the web. You should aim to pay no more that £10-15 pounds for one (including postage).

 

mikelahey
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎24-11-2015

Re: What modem?

PS The modem doesn't require any configuration, it is already configured by Openreach to work with FTTC.

bill1312
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎17-03-2018

Re: What modem?

Mikelahey

 

Have sent off for the  Huawei Echolife HG612 Model 3B.

Will let you know how I get on.

Thanks for the response.

 

Bill

daveplus
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 372
Thanks: 65
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: What modem?

My first VDSL (in 2010) modem was an HG612 and it got pretty hot. When I moved I got a B-Focus and it is as cool as could be. I thought that you might be interested in the heat issue.

Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,281
Thanks: 1,407
Fixes: 87
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: What modem?

I understand that the early HG612 did have a heat problem. I had a 3B model and it got warm but not excessively so.

smoothpainting
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎30-09-2018

Re: What modem?

The Draytek Vigor 130 modem is another option worth mentioning and very stable.