cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VPN into Plusnet HUB1

Iamalebott
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2016

VPN into Plusnet HUB1

Hi

 

just got my new Hub1 router and a new faster package.

Can a VPN be loaded into the router ?

 

I ask because I know I can use a VPN via my desktop pc , but my Firestick will not be protected

Any ideas please ?

8 REPLIES 8
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,723
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 168
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

I'm not 100% sure what you mean by loaded in to the router. VPN services do work with the router and you should be able to set up port forwarding if needed too.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button

Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
Iamalebott
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2016

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

Thanks for the quick reply.

 

Things like port forwarding etc are not known to me , so I dont know what to do or where to find the info

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,412
Thanks: 532
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

The Hub1 has no ability to configure a VPN. Not sure why you would want to put a Firestick through a VPN I am unsure.

Iamalebott
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2016

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

It's just something I would like.
How can I protect my self whilst using a firestick
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,412
Thanks: 532
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

The Firewall will protect you, not a VPN, the Hub1 has one built in.

DaveyH
Champion
Posts: 1,946
Thanks: 466
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎15-11-2012

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1


@Mustrum wrote:

Not sure why you would want to put a Firestick through a VPN I am unsure.


It's usually either to get round geo-blocking, or because they've sideloaded Kodi and are using addons that use 'questionable' sources...

Iamalebott
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2016

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

A VPN serves many purposes.
This is a choice I make.

I entered the question for assistance and advice , not judgement
Thanks
markhawkin
Pro
Posts: 407
Thanks: 58
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎17-07-2016

Re: VPN into Plusnet HUB1

I don't think a Hub One supports an incoming VPN.

You could put a device in a DMZ and forward chosen ports to it but I don't think that is what you are looking to do.

Incoming VPN support tends to be in the SOHO router feature set.

If you have time to experiment there are alternative router firmwares that might do what yo want but I recommend trying that on surplus hardware.
I am the satisfied customer....