cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

I have been running the HH5A for a while now as a VDSL modem (as opposed to using the WAN connection with the OR modem) just to see if it will receive a firmware update. I ran it for months and months with the OR modem and it never received a firmware update so I am trying this instead.
I do know that other PN users have received firmware updates to their HH5A but does anyone know if you have to wait your 'turn' to receive updates or do they just push sooner or later?
I have a suspicion that the thing will never update as I can't really see why having ti connected directly as a VDSL modem would make any difference (it still 'calls home' once a day but never updates).
Thanks for any insights/thoughts.
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2008

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Quote from: jafreer
I have been running the HH5A for a while now as a VDSL modem (as opposed to using the WAN connection with the OR modem)

Why won't it call home when connect to the OR modem ?Huh
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

It does call home when connected to the OR modem, but it never updates the firmware. In fact, it calls home exactly the same (same TR069 log entries) whether it is connected via the OR modem or not. I don't see any discernible difference.
But... the firmware (despite not being the latest for that model), never updates.
When I saw that some people had reported firmware updates to their HH5A on the PN network, I asked if they had it connected as a VDSL modem, or through an OR modem, and it was as a VDSL modem.
So as a last ditch attempt, I tried that, though I can't really think it should make any difference given the TR069 entries are identical in either configuration.
If I knew someone who had BT internet, it would be interesting to see if a firmware update would get pushed to it on that network.
Maybe I have a HH5A that simply refuses to update!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

I was going to comment after your previous post that maybe updates may depend on several factors. Whether you are on vDSL or ADSL, and/or whether you are using it as a router or a modem/router and/or for vDSL what Cab you are connected to and what updates it has had. Some of the updates will be related to the DSL aspects, whereas some may be general or router or wifi related.
I've just come across this thread which may be of interest re DNS on the HH5A
Also this on a Plusnet connection for a HH4A on ADSL - Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.130.1.26.1.1 (Type A) Last updated 17/12/15 which suggests that HH may not have been used for nearly 12 months as from another HH4A on a BT connection - Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.130.1.26 (Type A) Last updated 25/01/15.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Thanks for the response. Yes its a strange one. The current firmware won't allow any DNS configuration (which is ok in my case as I don't really need to change it). Looking at the TR069 entries from an updated HH5 (not mine obviously), the pattern follows my entries up to one point. For example, here is a log entry from a HH5 receiving a f/w update...
10:24:46, 05 Jan. ( 109.810000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:24:45, 05 Jan. ( 108.340000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:24:42, 05 Jan. ( 105.840000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:24:42, 05 Jan. ( 105.830000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '7 TRANSFER COMPLETE,M Download,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:24:42, 05 Jan. ( 105.590000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code M Download
10:24:42, 05 Jan. ( 105.590000) transfer completed successfully
10:24:42, 05 Jan. ( 105.360000) CWMP: Download status=OK
10:24:24, 05 Jan. ( 87.900000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:24:24, 05 Jan. ( 87.680000) CWMP: Download file, FileType=1, FileName=prod_sec.enc.rms, Username=, CommandKey=1310757706
10:24:24, 05 Jan. ( 87.460000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:24:22, 05 Jan. ( 85.670000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:24:22, 05 Jan. ( 85.670000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:24:22, 05 Jan. ( 85.420000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
10:24:20, 05 Jan. ( 83.640000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:24:20, 05 Jan. ( 83.400000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:24:17, 05 Jan. ( 80.620000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:24:17, 05 Jan. ( 80.620000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '1 BOOT,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:23:47, 05 Jan. ( 50.370000) CWMP: session closed due to error: WGET TLS error
10:23:44, 05 Jan. ( 47.440000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:23:44, 05 Jan. ( 47.430000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '1 BOOT,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:23:39, 05 Jan. ( 42.100000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
10:23:29, 05 Jan. ( 31.960000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:23:29, 05 Jan. ( 31.950000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '1 BOOT,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:23:28, 05 Jan. ( 31.720000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 1 BOOT
10:08:48, 05 Jan. (34144.490000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:08:46, 05 Jan. (34142.880000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:08:45, 05 Jan. (34141.260000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:08:45, 05 Jan. (34141.260000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '7 TRANSFER COMPLETE,M Download,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:08:45, 05 Jan. (34141.010000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code M Download
10:08:45, 05 Jan. (34141.010000) transfer complete: transfer error 9010: An unexpected error has occurred during the download process.
10:08:45, 05 Jan. (34141.010000) CWMP: Download status=An unexpected error has occurred during the download process.
10:08:13, 05 Jan. (34109.460000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:08:13, 05 Jan. (34109.230000) CWMP: Download file, FileType=1, FileName=prod_sec.enc.rms, Username=, CommandKey=1310731957
10:08:13, 05 Jan. (34109.020000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:08:09, 05 Jan. (34105.870000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:08:09, 05 Jan. (34105.870000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:08:09, 05 Jan. (34105.620000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
And here is a log entry from my unit (it does this 'calling home' every 24 hours)
11:28:49, 02 Jan. (86436.830000) CWMP: session completed successfully
11:28:49, 02 Jan. (86436.570000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
11:28:46, 02 Jan. (86433.840000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
11:28:46, 02 Jan. (86433.830000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
11:28:46, 02 Jan. (86433.610000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
11:28:42, 02 Jan. (86430.040000) CWMP: session completed successfully
11:28:42, 02 Jan. (86429.810000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
11:28:39, 02 Jan. (86426.980000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
11:28:39, 02 Jan. (86426.980000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '2 PERIODIC,4 VALUE CHANGE'
11:28:39, 02 Jan. (86426.760000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 2 PERIODIC
So it appears to be reaching the server correctly, which makes me think the server isn't ready to give it a firmware update. I just can't figure out why.
This is not a big deal in the grand scheme of things since the HH5 is doing its job. I mainly got it for the improved wifi coverage, and that is good. I can't do the TBB BQM with it either but not the end of the world. Being the inquisitive type, I am just curious as to why it isn't getting the updated firmware (which I do note has some additional features and improvements).
In any case, I will just wait. I have concluded that it makes no difference whether it is connected as a VDSL modem or connected via the OR modem. I could be wrong, but since the OR modem gives me slightly higher speeds (it uses G.Inp on the DS), I have switched back to that.
Thanks for all the replies. If it does eventually get an update, I will post on here (don't hold your breath).
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Well less than a week after my posts bemoaning not receiving a firmware update for the HH5A, last night around midnight the internet goes off. I just assumed it was DLM making a tweak or something but I looked at the OR modem and it was still in sync.
I noticed I couldn't initially access the router login page but then could after a couple of minutes.
When I checked the firmware, it had been updated!
It now states...
BT Home Hub 5 (Type A) | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.204.1.11 | Last updated 06/01/16
The things I have learned about the HH5 updating on the PN network...
1) It does not have to be connected directly as a modem, it can still update when using the WAN port via an OR modem.
2) Be prepared to wait. My HH5A was connected for more than 6 months with no firmware update (despite the latest firmware being around for ages).
I don't know why it has finally updated. One theory is that it has something to do with the Hub One (rebadged HH5A) being introduced (although I think that theory is a long shot).
Another theory is that it had something to do with me using the HH5A as a VDSL modem for a short while. Although it wasn't connected as modem when it did update. Maybe the update server queued it up only after seeing it connected as a VDSL modem (another long shot I think).
Last theory concerns PN switching over to their new network. Does it have something to do with that (unlikely). I don't even know if I am on the new network.
So there we have it. Update finally came. I have no good idea as to why it took so long.
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2008

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

That's odd - I just checked mine and  at it says the same version update 6/1/16 !!!
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Interesting to know Mal. I wonder if the BT server only pushes updates at certain times.
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2008

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Yes ;possibly; or they do it to batches of routers according to serial number etc
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

I saw the responses above, so connected my spare HH5 earlier this afternoon, sure enough it too now has the latest firmware.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Wise move Mustrum as who knows when another round of updates will be issued - could be months.
Anyone who has a HH5A might want to connect it now if you want the latest firmware. It seems if you miss the 'slot' the next one could be a long time coming.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,106
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

@Mal08, I hadn't spotted you say anywhere which model HH5 you have, I assume from some of your posts it's a HH5A and just to recap - used as a Router.
Just to add some further mystery to HH 'why and when' firmware updates - this seen recently for a HH5B -
Firmware version: v0.07.05.0A13-BT (Type B) Last updated 8/1/2016
00:38:58, 09 Jan. Booting firmware v0.07.05.0A13-BT (Thu Oct 15 14:28:46 2015).
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎20-08-2008

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Sorry - I have a HH5A - when my PN router was dispatched late I was able to get one cheap - yes used as a router as I'm on FTTP.
"BT Home Hub 5 (Type A) | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.204.1.11 | Last updated 06/01/16"
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 845
Thanks: 54
Registered: ‎13-10-2012

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Even more curiously, my HH5A keeps downloading a file (hh5a-​v6-​complete.tar.gz.aes.rsa.signed) every 24 hours (see log below), and despite me restarting the hub, it still downloads this file every 24 hours.
10:40:44, 17 Jan. (86446.340000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:40:44, 17 Jan. (86445.890000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:40:41, 17 Jan. (86442.850000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:40:41, 17 Jan. (86442.850000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:40:41, 17 Jan. (86442.590000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:40:40, 17 Jan. (86442.140000) CWMP: Download file, FileType=4, FileName=hh5a-​v6-​complete.tar.gz.aes.rsa.signed, Username=, CommandKey=2408624228
10:40:40, 17 Jan. (86441.820000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:40:36, 17 Jan. (86438.300000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
10:40:36, 17 Jan. (86438.270000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:40:36, 17 Jan. (86438.270000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '6 CONNECTION REQUEST,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:40:36, 17 Jan. (86438.010000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 6 CONNECTION REQUEST
10:40:32, 17 Jan. (86433.830000) CWMP: session completed successfully
10:40:31, 17 Jan. (86433.260000) CWMP: HTTP authentication success from https://pbthdm.bt.mo
10:40:26, 17 Jan. (86428.000000) CWMP: Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.mo; Connecting as user: ACS username
10:40:26, 17 Jan. (86427.990000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '2 PERIODIC,4 VALUE CHANGE'
10:40:26, 17 Jan. (86427.740000) CWMP: Initializing transaction for event code 2 PERIODIC
ChowchillaC
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-01-2013

Re: Use a BT Hub 2, 3, 4 or 5 on a Plusnet connection

Bought a HH5 (model A) that arrived yesterday, set it up within minuites and working great. bout 2am it went down, checked this morn and it seems the firmware updated to the latest as mentioned in this thread.