cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Technicolor TG582n security

ceresian
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2022

Technicolor TG582n security

I've just got a new phone and it is helpfully telling me that my TG582n router provides "weak security". I tried changing the password in the router and it shut down until I reset it. Anything else I should be doing?

Thanks

17 REPLIES 17
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@ceresian If this is an Apple phone - ignore the message - it is just American paranoia because you aren't using a modem/router which supports WPA3, and there aren't that many of them about anyway.

Your current security arrangements are perfectly OK.

John
ceresian
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2022

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

Understood, but is there any way to change the apparently built-in password?

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

Which password are you talking about? The only one which affects the router (but not it's 'security' settings is the 'Router Access 'Password', which I strongly advise against changing.

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,788
Thanks: 5,243
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@ceresian 

It's not the password your phone is whinging about it's the encryption of data. Apple has included WPA3 in their latest phones and likes to brag about it whilst the rest of the world and the vast majority of equipment uses WPA2 without any issues. The latest Apple products are also fully compliant with this older standard.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

Thanks @Baldrick1 - a better explanation than mine, but that requires a WPA3-enabled 'hub'?

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,788
Thanks: 5,243
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@jab1 

I don't know if that's a question but yes.

From the OP's response I get the impression that they believe that this is a weak password problem, hence my post.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

The 'requires a WPA3 enabled 'hub' ' bit was - although I know the answer. I also kind of guessed the OP was thinking of passwords from their question and responses.

John
ceresian
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2022

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

I was referring to the password(key) that is used to connect the phone or other device to the router. Is there a way to change it to one of my choice? One hears stories of home routers being 'hacked' and my usage figures are higher than normal recently.

Thanks

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

'@ceresian - so you are talking about the wireless access. I don't know if you can change that ( @Baldrick1  ?) but you should be able to see all connected devices somewhere on the routers information pages - if you recognise all those listed, you are unlikely to have been hacked, and those stories are usually because someone has left the key visible - e.g. on a windowsill with the detail on the sticker facing the window.

Where are you finding your usage figures?

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,092
Thanks: 5,737
Fixes: 409
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@ceresian this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9CH1wz45K0 to the PlusNet help shows how to chnage the wifi password on the TG582

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,788
Thanks: 5,243
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@jab1 , @ceresian 

See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9CH1wz45K0

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

Cheers @Baldrick1  - not something I ever bothered about when I had one, and I certainly ain't bothered now 😉, but useful to know it is possible.

John
ceresian
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2022

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

Thanks MisterW and Baldrick1 that video gave me all the answers! I think my difficulty arose because I didn't realise that changing the password would of course lose my connection. Obvious when you think about it!

Jab1 - my usage figures are from Plusnet Member Centre.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,323
Thanks: 5,583
Fixes: 259
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Technicolor TG582n security

@ceresian I was under the impression that PN no longer provided these - unless, for some strange reason you are still on a metered connection, in which case I strongly suggest you get an unlimited one.

John