cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

TKGuitar
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 23-01-2016

Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

Hi all

Since moving from Plusnet ASDL to Plusnet Fibre I’ve been having connectivity issues with the newly supplied Sagemcom Pusnet Hub One - CS 5001. I have since received a replacement but things aren’t getting any better. 

2E4A6835-4F2F-4362-89C5-012731AE7449.jpeg

 

Since swapping to fibre I’m a little confused as to exactly what type of router I now need. Would I be right in saying an FTTC or VDSL2 router? I’m looking to replace the current Hub One so could anyone please point me the direction of a suitable upgrade? Or a list if possible! ;-)

One last question. Now I’m using fibre do I still need to use ADSL filters for phones connected to other sockets or can I now bin them? 

Thanks in advance for any suitable suggestions

11 REPLIES
runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 511
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001


 Would I be right in saying an FTTC or VDSL2 router? 

Yes you do ! Good makes are Draytek  and TP Link

DrayTek Vigor 2860n

One last question. Now I’m using fibre do I still need to use ADSL filters for phones connected to other sockets or can I now bin them?

Yes you do ! Unless you are using a BT Openreach double socket ( phone and VDSL ) filtered faceplate on your master socket then using microfilters is even more important with VDSL.

You cannot expect VDSL to work properly without them.

However the latest  filtered faceplates from BT are a much better idea than dongly microfilters.

Start by looking for the NTE5C master socket with VDSL filtered faceplate - a much neater solution

This guide to the NTE5C from BT may be a little difficult to digest,  but is their best product to date and will usually guarantee better performance.

 

Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 856
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 28
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001


TKGuitar wrote:

 I’m looking to replace the current Hub One so could anyone please point me the direction of a suitable upgrade? Or a list if possible! ;-)


Why do you want to replace the Hub One? If it's to 'cure' the drops you are experiencing then you will probably be wasting your money. The picture is showing a dropped line so the link between the router and exchange is down. If this has happened with two hubs then the problem is pretty certain to be elsewhere. Are you having this problem when plugged in to the test socket, that's the one you find after you take the front cover off the master socket? How often does it drop? 

Have Plusnet confirmed that they are seeing this problem at their end?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,270
Thanks: 1,704
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

Hi there. I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing connection problems.

 

Whilst we can see the drops,

 

testing your line isn't finding the cause of that. Due to the length of your line from the cabinet (the green box in the street), occasional drops such as the above are to be expected.

 

If you haven't already I'd plug your router into the test socket as explained here. This will be the best place for your router and will help minimise the distance the broadband signal takes to reach it.

 

If the frequency of drops increase, I'd head on over to http://faults.plus.net to report a fault. -Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
TKGuitar
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 23-01-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

Thanks guys for the replies.

Sorry I’ve had a busy day and so haven’t had a chance to respond. The router in the picture is just a stock picture I grabbed off the net, it’s not mine. I included it just so we all knew exactly which router we we’re talking about. Sorry for the confusion there.

 

Since upgrading to fibre from ADSL, I’m now using the Hub One and I’ve been experiencing intermittent connectivity problems. I’m using exactly the same devices on my LAN so the only thing that has changed is the router. I’m happy just to try for a new router.

All I’m trying to achieve here is find out exactly what type of router I need if I wanted (which I do), to upgrade on the Hub One.

“gpsmout” has confirmed for me that I need a VDSL2 router which is good and also given me an example, thank you very much for that. I just now need to have a look and try to find one under £100...preferably around £70 or under if possible that would be a good upgrade on the Hub One.

Any experience or recommendations of suitable routers from you guys would be gratefully received. 👍

 

 

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,980
Thanks: 643
Fixes: 43
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

A good selection of combined VDSL2 modems and routers can be found on Kitz's site here.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
TKGuitar
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 23-01-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

Many Thanks! Smiley

PhyllisTyne
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 606
Thanks: 32
Fixes: 3
Registered: 30-08-2007

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

For that budget I personally would look at a TP-Link VR600
TKGuitar
Hooked
Posts: 8
Registered: 23-01-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

markhawkin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 219
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 5
Registered: 17-07-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

@TKGuitar

Having spent some while investigating and fixing fibre (VDSL) stability problems for relatives can I ask you to put your Router shopping on hold until you have fitted a VDSL filtered faceplate to the master socket and plugged your existing router into that.

Something like the "KAUDEN LJ5208V VDSL/ ADSL Splitter Faceplate for NTE5" from Amazon would do the job (correctly chosen for your type of master socket).

 

I am the satisfied customer....
runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 511
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

Personally @TKGuitar, I'd rather use  a genuine  BT Openreach Telephone Master Socket NTE5c MK2 & VDSL/ADSL Faceplate MK4  rather than the generic Faceplate splitters . They are significantly better performing

Available here:  https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/adsl-vdsl-faceplates/mk4btopenreachvdslsocket/

But also on Ebay for much less!!

markhawkin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 219
Thanks: 27
Fixes: 5
Registered: 17-07-2016

Re: Suitable replacement for a Sagemcom Plusnet Hub One - CS 5001

I agree with @runhare

 

If you can source the Openreach original it would be better, that's what I have at home.

 

 

I am the satisfied customer....