cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router configuration prior to line activation

stav
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2023

Router configuration prior to line activation

New Plusnet user.
Just received the new router 2 and I was wondering whether I can configure the ports and change the ssd name and password prior to the line activation.
The guide with new router states not to switch it on till the line is activated... don't want to mess it up hence the question.
Thanks
6 REPLIES 6
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,427
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

Deleted

John
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,826
Thanks: 5,266
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

@stav  Welcome to  the Community forums.

You can certaainly switch it on and configure it, just leave the DSL plug out whilst you configure it. In terms of 'messing it up', if you did manage to get it into an un-workable stae then all that you have to do is push a paperclip or similar in the hub's reset hole. Hold the reset switch closed until the light turns Green.

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

stav
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2023

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

@Baldrick1 - thanks and another question.
Can I restore the backup file from a BT smart hub 2 to the Plusnet router ( they look similar apart from the colour) and then change the broadband username.
It will save me a lot of keying in. 🙂
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,826
Thanks: 5,266
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

@stav 

I don't know if you can transfer the settings.

However what you can do is use tha Smarthub 2 on your Plusnet connection. All that you need to do is remove the DSL connector, this is essential, navigate to the Advanced/Broadband page. There change the username to youraccountname@plusdsl.net, enter your account password and save. After it's saved plug in the DSL cable and if required select Connect.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

stav
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2023

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

Just to let you know the Plusnet router could not open the BT backup file.
Although setup and configuration seem to be identical between both routers the backup files are not compatible.
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,826
Thanks: 5,266
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router configuration prior to line activation

@stav 

Thanks for the update.
I’m not at all surprised as the firmware has been tweeked for Plusnet. The Hub 2 has the capability of operating in bridge mode and allows you to set your own DNS resolvers. However the phone port is non operational and you can’t use it with BT wireless mesh satellites.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'