cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacement Router for hub one

romanysgang99

Replacement Router for hub one

Just moved to Plusnet but didn't appreciate how dreadful the supplied router is. Need to get a replacement and I'm not really a "techy" person so simple is good. I have an Openreach 5C wall master socket and don't mind cost but just need to ditch the plusnet router ASAP with a direct replacement that will work well in a 4 bed house with a mix of stone and stud walls. Any suggestions please.
4 REPLIES 4
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Re: Replacement Router for hub one

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Fixes: 418

@romanysgang99  Welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately it sounds like you have just missed out on the change over for new subscribers from a Plusnet Hub One to the new Hub Two.

Basically any ADSL/VDSL combined Modem/Router from a third party manufacturer such as Asus, Netgear TP-Link etc., will work, but none are what you might call a 'direct replacement'. The Plusnet hubs just need plugging in. Any replacement requires you to follow simple instructions to configure them.

You will probably receive nearly as many different recommendations as replies as we all have our favouries. Those on a budget get a BT Smarthub from an auction site and use the settings pinned at the top of this Router board to set it up.

The one thing to watch is that Plusnet call their hub a router. It is NOT a router, it is a combined modem/router. Don't follow many others and fall into the trap of buying a simple Router.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Mando
Hooked
Fixes: 2