cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

sunnyrio
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2022

Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

I can ping between all my wired Windows computers.  But if one of them is on wireless, I cannot ping in either direction.  Is there a setting in Hub Two to allow traffic between wired and wireless?  Both wired and wireless devices get to the internet ok, but I get the feeling the hub is blocking communication between them.

7 REPLIES 7
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,406
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

Hi, there should be no restriction for ping between wired and wireless devices.

Are the wired and wireless device on the same network from an IP Address point of view? The default IP Address range for Hub two would be 192.168.1.64 throught to 192.168.1.253? The network mask would be 255.255.255.0. 

What is the wireless device connecting to?

Dan.

Edit: does ping report an error message

 

 

 

 

sunnyrio
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2022

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

Yes they're all on the same network range with the same mask.  I have a number of desktop PCs.  They can all ping through the wired connection.  If I remove the ethernet cable from one and stick a wireless USB stick in to it, it can go on the internet, but I can't ping any wired PCs with it, and they can't ping it.  The ping just says request timed out as though I was pinging a non existant address.  Strangely it did work very briefly (the PC in question monitors science projects on the other ones and they appeared for 5 seconds during the 20 minutes I was trying to get it to work).  No reason it did it, I hadn't changed anything, then they went away again.  Remote desktop also fails.  I have two smartphones on wireless and I can ping them ok from a wired PC.  Maybe this is a Windows problem not a router problem?  The PC in question has file sharing turned on for every type of network.

sunnyrio
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2022

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

Fixed it!  Always happens, in explaining to someone what the problem is, I find the answer.  It was indeed Windows's fault.  The Wifi connection was marked as public, hence it did not permit pings, file sharing, network discovery.  Strange I couldn't ping out the way though.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,406
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

Pleased you've fixed your issue, however I'm not convinced it was the problem behind ping not working.

Dan.

sunnyrio
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2022

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

I am.  In "public network" mode, Windows doesn't allow file sharing or discovery.  With those off, no ping either.  I saw it happen before.  Sometimes Windows mistakenly thinks a wired connection is "public" as in a cafe etc.

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,406
Thanks: 1,060
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

" however I'm not convinced it was the problem behind ping not working"

It turns out I had enabled ping on public networks on my windows 10 test system where I checked your fix, it was set to 'Public' and it responded to pings.

Not really recommended but it was something I needed enabled some years back.

Dan.

sunnyrio
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2022

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - cannot ping between wired and wireless

The problem is windows doesn't have a clue if the network is public or private.  I often find everything has suddenly started behaving oddly on my wired ethernet at home on a desktop, and it somehow thinks I'm carrying this huge desktop around in a cafe.  I did once read how it detects which it's on, and it's a very stupid and unreliable test.  What it should do is just ask you whenever you connect to a new network, and save that information for that router.

 

I have no problem calling a public network (if I used one) private anyway, without my windows password they can't exactly use my file shares etc.