cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

tol
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎15-09-2020

Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

Just started using a Hub 2 after my openwrt'd HH5a stopped working.

Where can I find details of the magical features offered in wifi Mode 1?  Everywhere I looked just says Mode1 = more wifi features, Mode 2 = fewer wifi features.

I have several tasmota and espurna (custom firmware) wifi switches and power monitors, some switched to hub2 happily while some, (supposedly the same hardware) can't connect properly.

I will try to switch down to Mode 2 to see if it helps these lost devices,but just wondering what I will "lose" from Mode 1.

 

Cheers

4 REPLIES 4
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,740
Thanks: 5,516
Fixes: 394
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

There's a better explanation in this thread https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/New-plusnet-hub-two-user-issues-connecting-devices-via-wifi/...

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

tol
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎15-09-2020

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

knocked it back to Mode 2 and then Mode 3 but still don't see the devices.  Wondering now if the new ssid is too long or the wpa key too strong.

Still don't know what the "advanced featues" are either, the linked thread gives a little hint at what Mode 3 misses...

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,699
Thanks: 5,203
Fixes: 418
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

@tol 

My understanding is that the Mode switch controls the wireless standards that are accessible at each level. Mode 1 is all the normal standards up to 802.11ac whilst the other two bands limit the hub to the earlier and basic standards.

Some older devices get confused and fail to connect to a hub that caters for the wider available bandwidth when these are available along with the slower older standards with which they are compatible, hence the ability to cut them out.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

tol
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎15-09-2020

Re: Plusnet Hub Two - Mode 1 (special features?)

Thanks, it's the devices anyway and my stronger wifi passphrase.  Mode is not a problem.

I struggled with a new one, the old was deemed not strong by the Hub 2 because which surprised me because it's pretty strong, but it seems Hub 2 doesn't consider any double characters as strong.

New wifi passphrase includes 2 "special" (non-alpha but within ascii range) characters but it seems several of the tasmota switches don't like that (weirdly, several of same type seem fine)


I doubt that the hub 2 (firmware) will allow, but is it possible to set up multiple ssids like I had with openwrt HH5a (hub1)?

Screenshot 2023-05-10 114823.png