cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

FIXED
NinthPlanet
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Hi there,

 

I read on another thread (https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Hub-One-5GHz-WiFi-issue/m-p/1846941#M29910) that all Plusnet Hub One routers should now be on the latest firmware version (4.7.5.1.83.8.289.1.3). My router is still showing 4.7.5.1.83.8.263. Is the rollout still in progress, or has my router dropped off of the management platform?

Many thanks. Smiley

12 REPLIES 12
wakeman
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 264
Thanks: 58
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎20-04-2020

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

@bobpullen 

I am still on the old firmware Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 Last updated 14/03/19

should this have been updated by now.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,460
Thanks: 4,315
Fixes: 278
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

The rollout is complete.

Both of your devices are no longer provisioned on the management platform.

I've made some changes at this side to remedy this. You'll now need to factory reset your hubs by inserting something into the pinhole at the rear of the device until the status light flashes green.

Once done, it should be a case of waiting 2-3 days for the firmware to reach you.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,970
Thanks: 4,461
Fixes: 356
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Deleted. @bobpullen  is on the case.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

cooperr388
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-12-2021

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Hi, @bobpullen

Just joined the forum and found this article.  Have been Plusnet customer for some time but my hub is still on old software version.  Had issues with the account following house move and P'net sent out new hub (not required).  We left old one in use to avoid having to change all registrations for access.  Is my old router now off the management platform?  Should I change it to the new one sent out - same model, or can we use the same process you have for others in this thread and reset existing?  If we put new unit into use will it still have same software issues?

Thanks

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,460
Thanks: 4,315
Fixes: 278
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

@cooperr388 - up to you really.

If you swap the the new hub in then it should update to the latest software within a few days.

I have also made some changes at this side to ensure the same will happen if you factory reset the hub that is currently in use.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

NinthPlanet
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Good afternoon @bobpullen. I factory reset my router via the pinhole on Friday after seeing your post, but it's still showing software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263.

A couple of things to note, in case it helps. Firstly, like @cooperr388, I'm using the Hub One from a previous Plusnet account (a new account was needed following a house move). Secondly, after resetting the Hub One, I applied a backup config file saved just before the reset.

The Hub One from my current Plusnet account has never left its box (I've had it about 5-6 months). Would it be worth me swapping out the Hub One and applying the config file to the newer router?

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,460
Thanks: 4,315
Fixes: 278
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263


@NinthPlanet wrote:

A couple of things to note, in case it helps. Firstly, like @cooperr388, I'm using the Hub One from a previous Plusnet account (a new account was needed following a house move). Secondly, after resetting the Hub One, I applied a backup config file saved just before the reset.


Which will probably have restored the 'broken' parameters for the management platform.

Navigate to the Event Log under the Advanced Settings of the router interface and filter the entries using the CWMP category. If you see references to a website address containing 'ceased', then you are back at square one.

It may be that you need to manually restore your settings from scratch.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

NinthPlanet
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Hi Bob,

 

Yep. Plenty of those entries dating from after the factory reset! 😞

 

I'll give the factory reset another go, but this time I'll write the settings I changed on a piece of paper before the factory reset and put them back in manually. Apologies for doing the wrong thing.

NinthPlanet
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

I've just performed another factory reset @bobpullen. I've left it at the default configuration, minus entering in my Plusnet username and password. Still seeing the following CWMP log entries:

15:43:11, 29 Dec. ( 396.120000) CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host
15:43:11, 29 Dec. ( 396.070000) CWMP: Server URL: https://ceased.tr69.p; Connecting as user: ACS username
15:43:11, 29 Dec. ( 396.060000) CWMP: Session start now. Event code(s): '0 BOOTSTRAP,4 VALUE CHANGE'

 

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,460
Thanks: 4,315
Fixes: 278
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Fix

@NinthPlanet - does your serial number end 373 by any chance? If so, I was looking at your new hub rather than  the one you carried across from the old account.

If you are using the 373 hub, then try one more factory reset and that should do the trick. Note, you won't need to manually enter your username and password once reset. The management platform will now take care of that for you.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

NinthPlanet
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎27-07-2019

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

@bobpullen Yes, the router's serial number does end in 373. The hub is now at version 4.7.5.1.83.8.289.1.3. Thanks very much for your help. Smiley

I'll look at sending my unused hub one back to Plusnet in the new year.

cooperr388
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-12-2021

Re: Plusnet Hub One Firmware Still on 4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Many thanks.  Been offline for a few days with family etc visiting.  Have just confirmed that the hub is now reporting "Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.289.1.3 | Last updated 29/12/21".

 

Many thanks for your help and hope you had a good New Year.