cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

FIXED
Ken555
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-12-2021

Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Having just upgraded from the old Thompson/BT modem set-up to a new Hub 2 after a house move.

 

I'm having issues with the port forwarding on it.

Set the host (Ip security camera) to a static IP, then set up a rule to forward external port 8080 to port 80 on the device.

Doesn't seem to work.
Done a online port scan, tried to access it from a mobile connection, even remoted into work, and tried a port scan from there.

Checked the online plusnet firewall and it is off as default.
The Hub 2 firewall is set to default.  Even setting this to off, still doesn't allow the port forwarding to work.

Turned on uPnP on the camera to do the same thing, and it shows as having the rule, but again nothing forwards.

Any other ideas ?

 

As an experiment stuck an apache server on to one of my PC's and again set up port forwarding and still no joy. 

8 REPLIES 8
Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,322
Thanks: 862
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Are you adding :8080 to the end of the IP address in the browser ?

Ken555
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-12-2021

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

yes I am.

Tried it both with the IP address (a static one) and host name.

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,621
Thanks: 6,352
Fixes: 1,461
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

can you successfully see the camera on the local network on port 8080?

how have you set the static ip - on the device or using the 'always use the address' option on the router?

also try a port 80 -> 80 in the firewall rules.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Ken555
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-12-2021

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Yes camera visibly internally

Ip set on devices

Tried 80 to 80
Tried wired and WiFi
Tried putting it in DMZ nothing.

Set a webserver up on different device and new port forwards and its not seen either.

Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,322
Thanks: 862
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Don’t know anything about Plusnet Hub 2 but have a look here BT-Home-Hub-2-router-setup  maybe of help…

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,621
Thanks: 6,352
Fixes: 1,461
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Very odd, I have a few port forwards set up successfully on the hub 2- including PS5, website and ssh servers all running ok.

Maybe post a screen shot of your config (removing any personal info)?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Champnet
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,322
Thanks: 862
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

@dvorak Must admit it's the first time I've seen external (allowed) IP adresses on a small system router, is this an option on the Plusnet Hub 2 ?

Ken555
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-12-2021

Re: Plusnet Hub 2 - Port Forwarding

Fix

I may have found the problem.

 

I had a static address on my old setup from years ago when you could switch it on in the control panel.
It was mapped to ken555.plus.com and resolved as 84.92.53.15

 

Now it seems to have changed, not sure if its landed up as dynamic, I will check for changes over the next few days.

 

So it seems I was using the old ip address to check.  The new one works fine.