cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need guest network access

FIXED
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Need guest network access

Morning all.

Currently have Fibre to the cabinet and using the supplied plusnet router.

Not happy to connect household devices which don't have security software to my main wifi so would like to have guest network. Had this previously with old router but lost it when I started using the Hub One.

There was a time when I was sufficiently capable of sorting this myself - but over the last few years I feel that I have been a bit left behind when it comes to broadband/ISPs/routers, etc.

Any help much appreciated.

I am happy - within reason to buy a new modem router - if needed, but I have no idea if there is any kit I could add to current equipment to provide totally secure guest network.

19 REPLIES 19
Pro
Posts: 517
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎28-06-2007

Re: Need guest network access

Hi @grandad May be corrected but I think hub one does not support your request, may I suggest you connect a second router as an access point and use that for the guests

All Star
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Need guest network access

@grandad 

Was your previous service FTTC - if so, you could possibly use your old router. The settings required can be found at

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/broadband-connection-settings/

 

Brian

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

Thanks for the reply.  Correct - the hub one does not offer guest network. I am reluctant to use my old router as I never really got on with it.

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

Thanks for the suggestion but as per my above reply I really don’t want to use my old router as I didn’t get on with it (web interface, software, settings etc).

Pro
Posts: 517
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎28-06-2007

Re: Need guest network access

Hi @grandad Alternatively find a family/neighbour or friend who is/has got an old router and use that as an access point, otherwise no guests.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,799
Thanks: 2,561
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Need guest network access

Adding an Access Point with a different SSID will not isolate you from the primary network.

@grandad 

Many third party devices come with a guest network. What you need is an ADSL/VDSL combined modem/router with a guest network to replace your hub one. Start with looking at tp-link, Asus and Netgear.

If you find a unit that fits your budget you can always refer back here for an opinion on its suitability.

 

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

Thank you for your helpful reply.

I had a nagging feeling that adding another router wouldn't isolate guests from the main netwrok which is exactly what I'm trying to achieve.

I've previously owned Netgear and TP Link routers although I have to say that I found it easier to set up the Firewall rules on the Netgear.

I've also heard some comments about certain of the BT hubs having a guest network but am having trouble trying to clarify this.

I do need to be careful though in what I buy. I'm used to having the modem combined with the router but so many of today's offerings seem to be router only. is this correct?

Thanks again.

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,799
Thanks: 2,561
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Need guest network access

@grandad 

The Business versions of BT hubs have a ‘Guest’ facility BUT this is for use in pubs, shops etc. It is totally open with no password required so that anyone can get access, not just your guests. I use a Business Smarthub 6 and this feature is turned OFF.

Yes you need to read specifications and get a combined modem/router. With the growth of cable systems and FTTP there are many routers out there as this newer digital technology does not use broadband to get the digital data to your property so do not require a broadband modem.

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

@Baldrick1 

Thank you again.

Re FTTP and FTTC. there is where I think I have much to learn/catch up on.

In simple terms, is it correct to say that FTTC needs a broadband modem and FTTP does not?

Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,799
Thanks: 2,561
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Need guest network access

@grandad 

That is correct. With FTTP  the fibre is terminated at the property with an ONT to which a router is cabled.

All Star
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Need guest network access

@grandad 

The following link will show the OR ONT (Optical Network Terminator) which is installed. A router is still required but is connected via an Ethernet cable which gives room for manoeuvre. The second link has explanations of ADSL, VDSL and FTTP.

 

 https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/09/a-look-at-openreachs-compact-fttp-broadband-ont-and-mi...

 https://kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc.htm

 

Brian

 

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

Fix

@Baldrick1 

Thank you again for taking the time to reply.

I’m beginning to understand things a little more now and hopefully as/when I replace my router I now know what to look for (VDSL modem).

I don’t think I’ve ever seen an ONT which I’m guessing connects to a router via its WAN port?

Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2014

Re: Need guest network access

@bmc 

Thank you for the reply.

I’ve had a look at the second link.

The first one didn’t work, but no matter - I used it to redirect me to a diagram of a BT ONT

All Star
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 16
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Need guest network access

@grandad 

For some reason the copy and paste of the link went wrong. This should work.

ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2019/09/a-look-at-openreachs-compact-fttp-broadband-ont-and-mini-olt.html 

 

Brian

 

Edit - the link appears to be too long so I've chopped off the https//www  bit.