cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linking Hub 1 and 2 via bridging

Joe0208

Linking Hub 1 and 2 via bridging

Hello all,

I know there is already posts out there but I'm so lost. I've got a Hub 1 (not capable of bridging) and a Hub 2 (bridge capable). I have dead spots throughout the house and wanted to utilise the Hub 2 to increase WiFi reach. I thought by setting the Hub 2 to bridging I could use a wired ethernet via the LAN port of Hub 1 to the LAN port on Hub 2 but Hub 2 is not playing ball and is flashing orange. When I link ethernet via Hub 1 LAN to Hub 2 WAN port it shows a purple light on Hub 2 signafying that it is bridging I believe (I have already placed Hub 2 in bridging mode). But it has not broadcast the internet any further so something is drastically wrong. I have some tech knowledge but am a little lost of what I should be doing. If someone could help point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated.

Kind regards
Joe
10 REPLIES 10
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 73

Re: Linking Hub 1 and 2 via bridging

@Joe0208 

Welcome to the forum.

By placing Hub Two into bridging mode it is now working as modem only, therefore all router and wireless functions will be disabled.

So what exactly are you attempting?

Maybe what you really require is a second wireless access point (WAP), so both the Hub One and Two are both providing wireless connection. So if this is the case which device will you be having connected to the internet and as the WAP?

Dan

Baldrick1
Fixes: 418

@Joe0208  Welcome to the forum.

This will never work. Reset your Hub 2. Set the Hub 1 up as an Access Point, see https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-a-2nd-Plusnet-Hub1-as-a-Wireless-Access-point/td-p/138....

Then connect the two together using one of the yellow LAN sockets at both ends.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser