cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub one security ssid not secure

caney97
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Hub one security ssid not secure

After the last Apple update the WiFi connection is showing as not secure. It says to change to wpa3 but the Hub One hasn’t got this feature in the settings. Do I need to buy a different router and input the broadband login details manually?

35 REPLIES 35
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,537
Thanks: 4,758
Fixes: 1,206
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,537
Thanks: 4,758
Fixes: 1,206
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

I don’t have WPA3 and none of my Apple devices have shown this. WPA2 is perfectly fine.

Where / what is showing this message?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
caney97
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

If i click on the WiFi in settings to show my connection it says security weak, change to WPA3.

caney97
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

image.jpg

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,537
Thanks: 4,758
Fixes: 1,206
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

I haven’t got a hub one set up - but can you check it if supports WPA2-AES rather than TKIP?
Think it should.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
caney97
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Only says WPA2 only no AES or TKIP.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,503
Thanks: 2,932
Fixes: 191
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

@caney97 

I think that you will find that the Hub One uses the WPA2 personal protocol, which is considered adequate for home use. If you want something better then you will need to buy your own router.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,034
Thanks: 2,679
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Interesting. Is this iOS 14?
I was under the impression the Hub One uses AES rather than TKIP. It doesn't support WPA3 though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

caney97
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 18
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Yes it is IOS14. The warning was not there in the previous version.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,034
Thanks: 2,679
Fixes: 171
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Thanks. Won't be around to look into this further until next week. In the meantime, interested to know if any other iOS 14 users are seeing this with their Hub One?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Mook
Champion
Posts: 849
Thanks: 622
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

It's not just the Hub One @bobpullen, I get the same message on my iPhone 6 (v14) about my WiFi connection to my Apple AirPort

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,537
Thanks: 4,758
Fixes: 1,206
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

It's a feature of iOS 14 that warns of weaker encryption.
I'd expect to see if on the AirPort as it's an older device - I'd have thought the Hub One would be AES though.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Mook
Champion
Posts: 849
Thanks: 622
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

@dvorak I can clear this message by selecting WPA2 Personal from the AirPort Wireless properties.

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,537
Thanks: 4,758
Fixes: 1,206
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Nice Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'