cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub one security ssid not secure

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Hub one security ssid not secure

After the last Apple update the WiFi connection is showing as not secure. It says to change to wpa3 but the Hub One hasn’t got this feature in the settings. Do I need to buy a different router and input the broadband login details manually?

28 REPLIES 28
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

I don’t have WPA3 and none of my Apple devices have shown this. WPA2 is perfectly fine.

Where / what is showing this message?
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

If i click on the WiFi in settings to show my connection it says security weak, change to WPA3.

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

image.jpg

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

I haven’t got a hub one set up - but can you check it if supports WPA2-AES rather than TKIP?
Think it should.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Only says WPA2 only no AES or TKIP.

Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,363
Thanks: 2,367
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

@caney97 

I think that you will find that the Hub One uses the WPA2 personal protocol, which is considered adequate for home use. If you want something better then you will need to buy your own router.

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,636
Thanks: 2,229
Fixes: 153
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Interesting. Is this iOS 14?
I was under the impression the Hub One uses AES rather than TKIP. It doesn't support WPA3 though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 71
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Yes it is IOS14. The warning was not there in the previous version.

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,636
Thanks: 2,229
Fixes: 153
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Thanks. Won't be around to look into this further until next week. In the meantime, interested to know if any other iOS 14 users are seeing this with their Hub One?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 588
Thanks: 377
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

It's not just the Hub One @bobpullen, I get the same message on my iPhone 6 (v14) about my WiFi connection to my Apple AirPort

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

It's a feature of iOS 14 that warns of weaker encryption.
I'd expect to see if on the AirPort as it's an older device - I'd have thought the Hub One would be AES though.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 588
Thanks: 377
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

@dvorak I can clear this message by selecting WPA2 Personal from the AirPort Wireless properties.

Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,234
Thanks: 4,284
Fixes: 1,099
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Hub one security ssid not secure

Nice Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'