cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One Wifi speed drops

Hub61
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Hub One Wifi speed drops

Hi, read through several posts on this subject but not found an answer yet. Common problems with Fibre in that WiFi drops to unusable speed regularly ( FB hangs, video buffers, Gmail freezes etc), never happened on normal connection. Possible solution is to change name of 5GHz channel and unsync...how do I do thisHuh? In simple step-by-step terms please!!!!

6 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,501
Thanks: 2,854
Fixes: 232
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

Moderator's note:

Moved to appropriate board.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

Log into the router, go to advanced then wireless, add 5 to the 5Ghz SSID, and untick the synch with 5Ghz on the 2.4Ghz section. 

Then on each of your wireless devices you will be able to choose which SSID you want to connect to. 

You may also want to get a Wireless analyser to check if there are other routers close by that are using the same channels as you. 

Hub61
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

Hi, thanks for that but how/where do I log in to the router?Huh
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,866
Thanks: 809
Fixes: 66
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

Open your web browser and enter 192.168.1.254 in the address bar (not the search box). This should open the router login page. The password is on a label fixed to the router.

Hub61
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-01-2018

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

Thanks for the info, reset to unsync so will see what happens later. 😁

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,866
Thanks: 809
Fixes: 66
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Hub One Wifi speed drops

As well as removing the sync you need to rename one of the channels. The common practice is to add 5 to the 5GHz SSID. Then for any devices that you want to connect at 5GHz you need to drop the current wireless channel and reconnect to the new SSID.