cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,566
Thanks: 2,177
Fixes: 152
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue


@marcyoung wrote:

Hi @bobpullen. I've rebooted a couple of times but I'm still on firmware version shown below.

Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 | Last updated 26/04/17

Can you confirm that a newer version has been pushed to my router? Thanks. 


Seems there was a problem downloading the file. Try again, it should work this time.

@marcyoung wrote:

@bobpullen, FYI, my router now thinks it's 8th November:

Time and date Message
00:02:12, 08 Nov. ( 133.500000) WAN operating mode is VDSL
00:02:12, 08 Nov. ( 133.500000) Last WAN operating mode was VDSL
00:02:11, 08 Nov. ( 132.110000) PPP IPCP Receive Configuration ACK

 

Looks fine from where I'm sat (time is on GMT so an hour out) Huh

> cwmp get_params InternetGatewayDevice.Time.CurrentLocalTime
InternetGatewayDevice.Time.CurrentLocalTime = 2020-05-01T12:09:59Z

 I think the router might show a duff date after a restart until it synchronises with the time server.

@Tesh1e wrote:
Hi @bobpullen, i'm having the same issue, looks like i still have the older version unless i am doing something wrong? I switched router off and then back on via the switch on the back

Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.263 | Last updated 22/07/19

Looks fine here:-

> system ver
Version: 4.7.5.1.83.8.273

 

@westcoaster wrote:

I've been speaking to PlusNet support about my broadband line dropping , usually around 1am to 2am (as someone mentioned earlier in thread), is this a pattern for others too?

Would suggest starting a separate thread if the problem persists, or raise it via the usual support channels. It's not related to the issue being discussed here, and looks to me like the router is losing sync/line is dropping (timestamps below are an hour out):-

wan            May  1 00:17:17 2020 (4856199.700000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
wan            May  1 00:17:21 2020 (4856204.100000) PPPoE is down after 1380 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN Ethernet 7 - Down)]
wan            May  1 00:17:21 2020 (4856204.100000) PTM over DSL is down after 1381 minutes uptime

wan            Apr 30 01:15:23 2020 (4773292.610000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
wan            Apr 30 01:15:28 2020 (4773297.050000) PPPoE is down after 2517 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN Ethernet 7 - Down)]
wan            Apr 30 01:15:28 2020 (4773297.050000) PTM over DSL is down after 2518 minutes uptime

wan            Apr 27 00:10:51 2020 (4510219.860000) PPP LCP Send Termination Request [User request]
wan            Apr 27 00:10:55 2020 (4510223.940000) PPPoE is down after 3812 minutes uptime [Waiting for Underlying Connection (WAN Ethernet 7 - Down)]
wan            Apr 27 00:10:55 2020 (4510223.940000) PTM over DSL is down after 3813 minutes uptime

 

Anyway, I've suddenly been having wifi connection problems with multiple devices in my house. I suggested deploying the latest .273 firmware to try and fix it but support hadn't even heard of it!

@bobpullen - you're a very busy man, but could you speak to PlusNet support so they know about the firmware upgrade? 

I've pushed the update to your device; you'll need to reboot the router to apply it.

I have engaged the operational teams in a bid to make them aware of the workarounds and the presence of this forum thread. Bear in mind though, that the update people are requesting here is a pre-production test build, and not a formally approved fix.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,566
Thanks: 2,177
Fixes: 152
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue


@bconnor wrote:

Uh-oh. @bobpullen you pushed out the change about 2 weeks or so ago to me. Things had looked good. Until today. I have a good 5Ghz wifi signal but no internet connectivity, things have dropped back to the 2.4Ghz signal. Looks like that isn't a full fix.


Is the device still in this state, and do you know roughly what time it happened?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@bobpullen I just checked, it is now working again. I manually connected back to the 5Ghz and I have connectivity. I haven't touched the router, I have been working on 2.4.

I believe it was OK up until midnight last night on 5Ghz, I was still using it. I noticed this morning at some stage that it was on the other signal, but I don't know exactly what time that happened.

It started working again sometime between about 2 and 3:30 today.

 

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎01-05-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Hi @bobpullen

I don't know if I can ask to get the new firmware too...

I have problems with the 5Ghz for months and I had to reboot my router everyday. I then disabled the 5Ghz completely because rebooting my router everyday was affecting my internet connection ( support team told me it is not good).
Been in 2.4Ghz for a while but recently I am having performance problems probably because the number of devices connected and some external interference.
I really need to re-enable the 5Ghz (that I have proved to have much better performance) but I don't want to go back and need to reboot my router everyday and affecting my internet connection. As many of us now, I am working with it.

Thanks.

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎28-04-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Thanks @bobpullen. Rebooted and router has updated.

Plusnet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.273 | Last updated 01/05/20

I'll let you know if the issue returns.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Hi

Do new Hub One units ship with the affected firmware? I'm thinking of returning to Plusnet after a stint on 4g broadband but I'm a bit hesitant given this issue.

Thanks,

Jamie 

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-04-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Thanks a lot @bobpullen my router has upgraded successfully to 4.7.5.1.83.8.273, I appreciate your help as do many others.

I'll see how things go, but as soon as the firmware upgraded and internet connectivity restored, devices started connecting to 5GHz straight away.

 

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-04-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@bobpullen thanks for the help about my broadband line dropping, I did start another thread but unfortunately I'm not getting far.

Could you let me know what you mean by "router is losing sync" so I can get back to Plusnet support about this. Support kept pointing the blame for the line drops to something in or around my property and seemed unwilling to look into it any further so I'm a bit stuck just now.

 

Thank you

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎24-04-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

FYI, after the upgrade to firmware .273, devices started connecting to the 5GHz radio right away, but I've noticed my son's iPhone is changing between 2.4GHz and 5GHz radios.

Anyone else seen this?

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2018

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@bobpullen send me update please. Sick of this clown shoes router problem.
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-10-2016

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Hub One is getting impossible.

 

Fire7 Voice service keeps losing connection on 2.4ghz

Smart washing machine is so cumbersome to use app (washer most likely on 2.4) as washer often invisible.

 

Lifx Z strips on 2.4ghz keep dropping off WiFi (reset / reinstall kicks them into life for few mins then disappear again)

 

not been following this thread Recently as too many notifications 

 

 

To clarify- the 2.4 and 5.0 are not merged, separate SSID For each. 

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,566
Thanks: 2,177
Fixes: 152
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@DenisCrickets & @vealy82 an update has been pushed to both of your device. You'll need to reboot to apply it. Let me know how you get on.

@catphone you are already running this later version. I've taken a look at your router logs and can see that one device in particular was continuously disassociating/reassociating with the Wi-Fi last night. Shortly after, early morning there were two Internet drops (router reboots maybe?). Aside from this, I can go back weeks and the logs don't show much evidence of Wi-Fi connectivity issues at all Huh

@jlog wrote:

Do new Hub One units ship with the affected firmware?

Yes, they do Jamie. If you find you're affected by the problem, then I'm happy for you to give me a nudge though.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 45
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-10-2016

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@bobpullen 

 

I turned the router off a couple of times to see if the lights would connect after continuous error messages (gone dark) when connected and error messages trying to fresh install.

 

the washer is very cumbersome connecting (Either trying to locate on the app and then starting the programme)

the tablet error messages not connecting to voice services 

 

safari was misbehaving on iOS 2.4 ghz

 

 

it has to be the hub as I never had this extreme with old routers (though intermittent in varying degrees with Hub one)

 

 

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 25
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎01-10-2017

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

@bobpullen much appreciated, bob. will be in touch.

cheers,
jamie
Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎01-05-2020

Re: Hub One - 5GHz WiFi issue

Thanks you very much... I restarted this evening and I will let you know how it goes.

For now what I noticed is that all my devices are now connected in 5Ghz... Before many of them would have use the 2.4GHz despite their are 5Ghz capable.

I am optimistic!