cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

FIXED
Rocky-Dragon
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-11-2022

Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

Under Advanced settings>My Network> IPv4 configuration

I change IP Address to: 192.168.100.1
DHCP server Enabled: No
I Click 'Save'

The address reverts back to 192.168.1.254

Even after restarting router.

What am I doing wrong?



Tags (2)
6 REPLIES 6
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,660
Thanks: 5,470
Fixes: 392
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

Fix

I know it shouldnt be necessary, since you're disabling DHCP , but have you tried setting the DHCP server address range to match the 192.168.100.x subnet ?

I've certainly changed the LAN IP of my Hub 2 but I would have changed the DHCP range as well.

I havent got mine connected at the moment but if the above suggestion doesnt work , I'll connect it and check it out.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Rocky-Dragon
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-11-2022

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

Many, many thanks MisterW !

That did the trick!


Not too intuitive how to get into custom mode. Nothing appears to happen when you click the custom button, that's because all the action is behind the popup menu 😋

Indeed, setting the DHCP range at same time and then disabling afterwards is the answer.

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,886
Thanks: 4,977
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

Sounds like a bug that needs squashing. I'll look to replicate and get it raised.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,886
Thanks: 4,977
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router


@Rocky-Dragon wrote:

Under Advanced settings>My Network> IPv4 configuration

I change IP Address to: 192.168.100.1
DHCP server Enabled: No
I Click 'Save'

The address reverts back to 192.168.1.254

Even after restarting router.



In way of an update, I am unable to replicate this problem using the latest v.08 firmware. I have followed these exact steps and the changes were saved successfully without error. I was then able to access the router GUI via its new IP address (after explicitly configuring the network card as DHCP had been disabled).

I'll therefore not be passing this one through for a 'fix' as I'm unable to reproduce the problem.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Rocky-Dragon
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎29-11-2022

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

I have firmware v0.06.00.12134-PN
So an update of my router is in order.


bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,886
Thanks: 4,977
Fixes: 316
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Hub 2 - Change LAN IP address of Router

@Rocky-Dragon - can you confirm the last three digits of your hub serial number please? Are they '243'?

Also, be mindful that the hub will need to be the device that is responsible for the PPP/Internet connection, else it will not communicate with the management platform that is responsible for firmware updates.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵