cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

costidellhome
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 03-04-2017

How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

I have a pub business, I got unlimited wifi with plusnet so that I could take card payments, and for customers, I don't need a business account because the pub is only open from 6 to 11 pm at night, a business account seemed a little excessive. 

Facebook have bought out a natty little thing Facebook Wifi, which means that before any of my customers can use my free wifi, they have to 'check in' on facebook, which is a fabulous idea and is brilliant for my business.  However, I can't find any information on what model of router I have (its a Hub one), or how to set it up, they seem to have every router listed but this.  I previously went on a chat window with plusnet and was told that it should be possible to set up.  Has anyone done this, and if so, how?  If not, are there any workarounds I could try?

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,286
Thanks: 446
Fixes: 40
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

The PlusNet Hub one router is a rebadged BT Home Hub 5. From what I can see, Facebook Wifi is only supported on a small set of routers at present , see here :- https://www.facebook.com/help/109150235937957?helpref=faq_content

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 2,859
Thanks: 1,534
Fixes: 62
Registered: 22-02-2016

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

Here is a list of routers that are compatible with Plusnet according to the kitz forum (well worth a read)

http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html

I have heard that a lot of users have had some good results with the ASUS AC68U routers.

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 809
Thanks: 105
Fixes: 21
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

The Hub One is a rebadged BT Home Hub 5 type A.

fyi, googling reveals the following information about Facebook wifi.

 

 

Looking at the short list of supported compatible products, the BT Home Hub 5 is not in the list.

https://en-gb.facebook.com/help/109150235937957

The Asus DSL-AC68U is the only pro-consumer router in the above list with a built-in VDSL modem.  It would replace the Hub One.

Facebook wifi enabled firmware from Asus, would then have to be downloaded and installed to the router.

https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1016297/

Firmware is here, v3.0.0.4.380_3038

https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/DSLAC68U/HelpDesk_Download/

 

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 140
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

@jaread83 I believe the OP needs a Facebook wifi compatible router, as @MisterW points out in his list, there are not too many that have that functionality at the moment.

costidellhome
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 03-04-2017

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

Thanks all, looks like it won't be happening then, strange when a plusnet support person told me it was possible!

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 2,859
Thanks: 1,534
Fixes: 62
Registered: 22-02-2016

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

It is possible, but requires some tinkering and investing in a router that is able to support this specialised hardware.

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

markhawkin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 195
Thanks: 25
Fixes: 4
Registered: 17-07-2016

Re: How to use facebook wifi with plusnet?

@costidellhome

It doesn't look a bad way of providing guest WiFi and for £125 as a one off payment for the Asus DSL-AC68U seems reasonable value.

I am the satisfied customer....