cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

FIXED
phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Before we moved house a coupe, of years ago I had set up a second router to extend the wireless range to the other end of the house. Our new house is smaller so I haven't needed to do this, but I have converted an outbuilding to an office and would now like to extend the WIFI to there.

I have two routers (we had two sent when we moved for some reason). I no longer have the old routers that I used before, and the newer ones don't seem to have as many options to configure. If I recall correctly, one of the first things you need to do is alter one of the router's IP address so that they don't conflict, but I can't find this option.

Any advice appreciated.

both routers are SAGEMCOM model 2704N.

 

12 REPLIES 12
daveplus
Pro
Posts: 564
Thanks: 122
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Yes I saw that. First thing it says is to change the IP address. I can't find that option on this router.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,039
Thanks: 2,672
Fixes: 179
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Fix

You need to get past the Plusnet micky mouse GUI and enter the Sagecom settings by going into its expert mode. See https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Router-hidden-settings-access/m-p/1213597#M14389

When in there switch off DCHP and change the IP address.

JOLO
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,149
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Hi @phil_the

 

There's no way to do this via the standard interface, although Sagemcom routers have a hidden menu system that will likely allow you to make these changes. You should be able to access this via - http://192.168.1.254/expert_user

 

EDIT: @Baldrick1 got there before me. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

OK Thanks both, I'll go and try it now.

wotsup
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 1,341
Registered: ‎21-11-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

We extended our WiFi by getting a couple of homeplugs and plug one in next to router and the other one ( WiFi extender bit ) into power socket in shed. You probably already considered this, but it works great.

phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Thanks, I have considered that, and might still look into it.


@wotsup wrote:

We extended our WiFi by getting a couple of homeplugs and plug one in next to router and the other one ( WiFi extender bit ) into power socket in shed. You probably already considered this, but it works great.


 

phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

I marked this as fixed as I was able to find the option to change the IP address using the expert_user.html page on the router. However I'm still not able to get the two routers to connect on the wifi. I don't really want to have to run a cable outside to join the two routers. Is there anything I might have missed to get this working?

(It is complicated by the fact that the broadband has dropped out a few times whilst I've been playing with this. I presume that is coincidence rather than anything to do with me looking at the router settings.)

Phil

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,312
Thanks: 2,308
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

However I'm still not able to get the two routers to connect on the wifi. I don't really want to have to run a cable outside to join the two routers. Is there anything I might have missed to get this working?

You won't be able to connect the routers togther via Wifi. You will either need to run a cable or use homeplugs as suggested above. You could either use the homeplugs with builtin wifi or just connect the two routers using basic homeplugs.

phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Thanks, although I am sure I have done this in the past but it was a number of years ago with a different router. I guess what I'm trying to set-up is a repeater or a bridge rather than an access point. 

As you say, the powerline network option might be the best way to go, although it's frustrating when you've done something before with much older hardware, and find that more modern equipment seems to have less functionality.

phil

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,312
Thanks: 2,308
Fixes: 173
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

I guess what I'm trying to set-up is a repeater or a bridge rather than an access point. 

You are, and I'm afraid the 2704N just can't do that.

phil_the
Grafter
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎31-01-2018

Re: Extending WiFi signal using a second router ?

Thanks.

phil