cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

FIXED
DavidBevan
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-12-2016

Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Is it possible (advisable) to change one of the SSID names on the HUB 1 either the 2.4GHZ or the 5GHZ so that they have different names. I have been experiencing problems with my Samsung phone being unable to connect to WiFi following a recent update.

One suggestion was that dual band routers using the same SSID name for both bands may be causing the problem.

 

Thanks for any advice

David Bevan  

5 REPLIES
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-11-2011

Re: Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Quick answer, yes.
Longer answer, there is no detrimental effect to splitting the SSID's and may help alleviate issues you've been having.
That's RPM to you!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Fix

Yes. If you log into the router, add a 5 to the 5Ghz SSID and untick the synch with 5Ghz on the 2.4 section.

Apple devices in particular don't like it when both are the same name.

DavidBevan
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-12-2016

Re: Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Thanks for replying so quickly.

DavidBevan
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-12-2016

Re: Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Thank you both, I've followed your advice Mustrum and it seems to be working.

 

Thanks again

 

David Bevan 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,489
Thanks: 2,846
Fixes: 229
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Changing SSID name 2.4GHZ and 5GHZ

Moderator's note:

Moved to appropriate board.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still