cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I run 2 Pihole servers on 2 Raspberry Pis?

glocal
Rising Star

Can I run 2 Pihole servers on 2 Raspberry Pis?

Is there a way to use two separate Raspberry Pis running pihole concurrently?

I have been using one 24/7 on Hub One and Two since August 2020 following this advice to solve the problem of these routers not allowing us to change the DNS server address. It runs Unbound and I have had no issues but I thought some redundancy would be good in case that Pi fails one day. A second Pi would run backup Pihole and PiVPN servers in addition to whatever else I decide not to install on the first one. I am guessing that normally I would define a primary and a fall-back secondary DNS server on the router, but my concern is these routers don't allow that. Any ideas?

26 REPLIES 26
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 88

Re: Can I run 2 Pihole servers on 2 Raspberry Pis?

@glocal 

Unlike the Hub One the Hub two does allow you to add your preferred choice of DNS servers

Navigate from Home >Advanced settings >My Network >IPv4 configuration >DNS servers >change from auto

Use this to enable custom Primary and Secondary DNS Servers being leased via DHCP.
All clients will need to renew its DHCP lease for changes to take effect.

glocal
Rising Star

That's great. I didn't see the options because the DHCP server on my router was disabled. Thanks.

Has anyone used primary/secondary DNS addresses there for two Raspberry Pis?

Baldrick1
Fixes: 429

@glocal wrote:

….Iam guessing that normally I would define a primary and a fall-back secondary DNS server on the router, but my concern is these routers don't allow that. Any ideas?

I only run a single pi hole but my observation: I have read that the secondary DNS server is more than a fall back port and the two can interlace and share the load. I found that mine did not play nicely unless I pointed both primary and secondary ports to the pi hole IP address.