cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Smarthub 6

RAIDMEUK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎24-03-2022

BT Smarthub 6

Could someone tell me the benefits of using a BT Smarthub 6 over the Plusnet Hub 2 please ?
6 REPLIES 6
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,458
Thanks: 5,093
Fixes: 411
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smarthub 6

@RAIDMEUK 

There’s only one, You can split the 2:4 and 5GHz bands. Otherwise go for a Hub 2.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,852
Thanks: 4,922
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: BT Smarthub 6

@RAIDMEUK - this post might be of interest.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

RAIDMEUK
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎24-03-2022

Re: BT Smarthub 6

I was hoping it would help with my wifi issues. The house I'm in has solid walls and metal framing. I seems I may have to invest in a NETGEAR Nighthawk and just use the Hub 2 as a modem.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,852
Thanks: 4,922
Fixes: 315
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: BT Smarthub 6

The Nighthawk isn't going to be much more capable of penetrating solid walls/metal framing. it will be using similar Wifi5 technology running at similar power levels.

Even if you opt for a model that has Wifi6, it will still be subject to the shorter 5GHz wavelengths that don't tend to travel through obstructions too well. You may have more success with a multi-point mesh model.

Regardless, exercise caution before shelling out on an expensive aftermarket device. Wiring additional Wi-Fi access points to your main hub for the blackspots is probably one of your most reliable options.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,458
Thanks: 5,093
Fixes: 411
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: BT Smarthub 6

@RAIDMEUK 

Your options:  https://community.plus.net/t5/Tech-Help-Software-Hardware-etc/Distributing-Data-around-Larger-Proper...

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,454
Thanks: 6,615
Fixes: 1,482
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Smarthub 6


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'